Oceanic biocube 29 glass or acrylic

Discussion in 'New to Reefing' started by Robtv, Sep 6, 2011.

  1. Robtv

    Robtv

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2011
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Kissimmee florida
    Just got a cleaning magnet and it tells me glass only my wife thinks is
    Acrylic also purchased a new hydrometer it tells me to leave 24 hours in salt water
    Dip it in my tank and looks like is almost 1.022 is this okay or shoal I do it after the 24 hours period to be more accurate
     
    Robtv, Sep 6, 2011
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. Robtv

    CurtisL

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2010
    Messages:
    376
    Likes Received:
    42
    Location:
    tampa, fl USA!!!
    biocube is acrylic
     
    CurtisL, Sep 6, 2011
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. Robtv

    Robtv

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2011
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Kissimmee florida
    So why is the oceanic web site saids glass
     
    Robtv, Sep 6, 2011
    #3
  4. Robtv

    CurtisL

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2010
    Messages:
    376
    Likes Received:
    42
    Location:
    tampa, fl USA!!!
    idk i did some research just now and there is a lot of confusion i have been under the impression my biocube is acrylic.. maybe not? some one may chime in?
     
    CurtisL, Sep 6, 2011
    #4
  5. Robtv

    Robtv

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2011
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Kissimmee florida
    Quick ? I just installed my new filter and I'm looking at the owners manual Shows that the filter goes against the front Wall and the on I have goes another way is there any way to up load images with a iPad to the site
     
    Robtv, Sep 6, 2011
    #5
  6. Robtv

    CurtisL

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2010
    Messages:
    376
    Likes Received:
    42
    Location:
    tampa, fl USA!!!
    send it to photobucket then copy the url
     
    CurtisL, Sep 6, 2011
    #6
  7. Robtv

    chuck78 The Reefanatic

    Joined:
    May 24, 2011
    Messages:
    529
    Likes Received:
    60
    Location:
    Charleston, S.C.
    I've never heard of a hydrometer that need to stay in sw for 24 hrs.
     
    chuck78, Sep 6, 2011
    #7
  8. Robtv

    navyclown

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Hampton, VA
    Biocube is made of glass. never heard of a hydrometer that needs to stay in for 24hrs either.
     
    navyclown, Sep 6, 2011
    #8
  9. Robtv

    Robtv

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2011
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Kissimmee florida
    After purchasing a oceanic bio magnet for algae for glass the owners manual is wrong I made little scratches on the acrylic will call oceonic tomorrow and ask them If it glass or acrylic will post info after I speak with them
     
    Robtv, Sep 6, 2011
    #9
    CurtisL likes this.
  10. Robtv

    little_fish Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    15,713
    Likes Received:
    2,574
    Location:
    Denver, CO
    you need to leave new hydrometers in 1.025 saltwater for 24 hours to "season" the hydrometer so it will read correctly.
     
    little_fish, Sep 6, 2011
    #10
  11. Robtv

    yote Ceritfied Mantis Hunter Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2006
    Messages:
    26,996
    Likes Received:
    3,868
    Location:
    Ringgold,Ga
    +1 Hannah

    You CAN get the Bio-Cubes in glass,but you normally have to special order them.
     
    yote, Sep 6, 2011
    #11
  12. Robtv

    SarahSmile :)

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2011
    Messages:
    1,681
    Likes Received:
    230
    Location:
    Tropical Ohio
    The Biocubes are glass. Please check out the manufacturer's website, Oceanic Systems. I bought my biocube at Petsmart. It is glass.
     
    SarahSmile, Sep 6, 2011
    #12
  13. Robtv

    Robtv

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2011
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Kissimmee florida
    What size
     
    Robtv, Sep 6, 2011
    #13
  14. Robtv

    SarahSmile :)

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2011
    Messages:
    1,681
    Likes Received:
    230
    Location:
    Tropical Ohio
    If you check out petsmart.com or petco.com or amazon.com or oceanicsystems.com they all say curved glass for the 14 and the 29.
     
    SarahSmile, Sep 6, 2011
    #14
  15. Robtv

    Robtv

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2011
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Kissimmee florida
    Just purchase a algea magnet and i put a few scratches
     
    Robtv, Sep 6, 2011
    #15
  16. Robtv

    yote Ceritfied Mantis Hunter Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2006
    Messages:
    26,996
    Likes Received:
    3,868
    Location:
    Ringgold,Ga
    Trust me.It's not glass.I've sold enough of them to know first hand.
    Had more than a few go arounds with Oceanic about it from customers ( as well as us ) thinking it was glass only to have it scratched to hell and back the first time an algae magnet was run inside of it.
     
    yote, Sep 6, 2011
    #16
  17. Robtv

    Robtv

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2011
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Kissimmee florida
    Your correct not glass they have glass all over the site and owners manual
     
    Robtv, Sep 6, 2011
    #17
  18. Robtv

    Eissie

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2011
    Messages:
    296
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    Monteagle TN
    I bought my tank used and it has seen its better days. Huge scratches in it that wouldn't be there if it was glass, unless the previous owners were trying out there glass cutting skills. :/
     
    Eissie, Sep 6, 2011
    #18
  19. Robtv

    Robtv

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2011
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Kissimmee florida
    quick question can anyone confirm what the second light switch on the bio cube 29 gallon controls i beleive its for the LED night lights but not really sure its not turning them off they stay on all the time not sure switch might be bad.
     
    Robtv, Sep 7, 2011
    #19
  20. Robtv

    little_fish Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    15,713
    Likes Received:
    2,574
    Location:
    Denver, CO
    if they are to the LEDs you can leave them on all the time, it wont hurt anything and they draw such a small amount of power it wont hurt your powerbill in any way
     
    little_fish, Sep 7, 2011
    #20
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.