Octopus Skimmers

Bifferwine

I am a girl
I have heard a lot of good things about these guys, and they are very reasonably priced. So I am thinking of trying one out on my 240. BUT I don't understand what any of this means! I'm not very technically-abled.

Octopus Protein Skimmers - AquaCave
Products: ASM Skimmers

Which one would be the best for my tank? I need one that's in-sump. My biggest problem is I only have about 22" of clearance in my sump. Can any of these sit OUTSIDE my sump where I have more clearance and just have the water reach it through some plumbing or something?? HELLLLLPPPPPPPPP!!!!!!!!!!

Oh, and it seems that Octopus is a branch of ASM.

Oh and for those of you that have Coralife super skimmers, does the collection cup just SLIDE out to the side? Because I can go with one of those, and then clearance won't be an issue if I don't have to LIFT the cup up off the top. You get what I'm saying???

I was just looking at the EuroReefs too. They have cups that slide out so you need zero clearance. Also similary priced to the ones I mentioned above, but much smaller in size.

What do you guys suggest? I'm torn.

Skimmer I just bought has that union type coupler, just slides right off, only about 1/4" clearance is necessary....

Dont know the name, think its a ASM or something... Sedra pump...I bought the bigger one, rated to 300 I found out, but there was a shorter one. I will ask tommorrow if ya want...

Oh and for those of you that have Coralife super skimmers, does the collection cup just SLIDE out to the side? Because I can go with one of those, and then clearance won't be an issue if I don't have to LIFT the cup up off the top. You get what I'm saying???

Biff,
With the CSS all you have to do is loosen the union that connects the cup to the skimmer body.Then just lift the cup about 1/8 inch and slide it off to the side.