Overflow Box/Sump/Refugium Set-Up

SaltwaterNoob17

Reefing newb
Here's the deal:

Right now I have my 46 gallon equipped with an Octopus BH-2000 HOB skimmer and a Aquaclear 110 filter that I converted into a makeshift refugium. I set it up this way (with everything hanging on the back) because my aquarium sits on a tv stand that has no room to set up a proper sump and fuge. However, I want to do things right, and so I'm thinking about either giving the tv stand a major makeover or buying an aquarium stand and trying to swap it out for the tv stand so that I have room to set-up a sump and a more suitable fuge.

The problem is: I'm broke right now, so depending on how much everything is going to cost, I might not be able to make the change as soon as I would like. However, I was hoping that you all might have some tips for a cheap overflow box/sump/fuge set-up. I've never done one before, and so I'm a little confused about where to even begin. Any help would be great.

Also, is it possible to turn the AC 110 filter into an overflow box? I'm a complete noob to all of this...

Thanks guys.

Thanks for the links. From the links you posted and from my google researching today, I think I'll ditch the overflow box and just go the PVC pipe route. How do I make sure that it keeps a siphon when the power goes out, though? And, how do I know what size pump I need to pump the water back from the sump to the aquarium without causing the main tank to overflow? :question:

I am probably going to make that PVC pipe overflow tomorrow or this weekend...If you haven't started by then I'll put pictures and a how to on my build thread.

I will also DIYing the sump/fuge as part of this for a 40g so it would be pretty much copy/paste to your setup most likely.

Last edited: