Overflow Size

Discussion in 'Reef Fishes' started by BigH55, Apr 15, 2009.

  1. BigH55

    BigH55 I'm that guy

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2009
    Messages:
    1,141
    Likes Received:
    60
    Location:
    Shiloh, IL
    i have to put an overflow in my frag tank which is 30"x13"x6.5" tall. How big wiould you make the overflow if you wanted it to flow at 250 gph. I looked at the calaculator on RC and they recommended 4 linear inches. so if I made it 2"X2" would I be okay?
     
    BigH55, Apr 15, 2009
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. BigH55

    ccCapt Reef Hacker Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    3,302
    Likes Received:
    815
    Location:
    Northeast PA
    I don't follow you. Do you want to make your own HOB overflow?
    I'm not 100% sure, but I think 4 linear inches is 4" long, not 2" x2".
     
    ccCapt, Apr 15, 2009
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. BigH55

    BigH55 I'm that guy

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2009
    Messages:
    1,141
    Likes Received:
    60
    Location:
    Shiloh, IL
    Its inside the tank. I didnt have them put it in becasue it would have cost another 75 bucks.
     
    BigH55, Apr 15, 2009
    #3
  4. BigH55

    ndepratt Equipment Junkie

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2009
    Messages:
    796
    Likes Received:
    73
    Location:
    Joplin, MO
    is it tempered? can you not just drill the back of the tank yourself, and put a bulkhead and an elbow in?
     
    ndepratt, Apr 16, 2009
    #4
  5. BigH55

    BigH55 I'm that guy

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2009
    Messages:
    1,141
    Likes Received:
    60
    Location:
    Shiloh, IL
    Its acrylic so I can drill it myself, which I plan to do. After talking to a friend im going the elbow route. I just have to get the bulkheads and im good to go. Will it gurgle very bad. My old lady will be pissed if its noisy.
     
    BigH55, Apr 16, 2009
    #5
  6. BigH55

    ndepratt Equipment Junkie

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2009
    Messages:
    796
    Likes Received:
    73
    Location:
    Joplin, MO
    install a durso and it'll be super quiet.

    [​IMG]

    installed so many in living rooms. :p
     
    ndepratt, Apr 16, 2009
    #6
  7. BigH55

    BigH55 I'm that guy

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2009
    Messages:
    1,141
    Likes Received:
    60
    Location:
    Shiloh, IL
    Thats exactly what I needed. Thanks. Also, im thinking of running an external Quiet one pump rated at 870 gph I know its over kill but im going to t it off and make a closed loop like system.
     
    BigH55, Apr 16, 2009
    #7
  8. BigH55

    BigH55 I'm that guy

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2009
    Messages:
    1,141
    Likes Received:
    60
    Location:
    Shiloh, IL
    How far from the top of tank and how big of bulk heads would you use?
     
    BigH55, Apr 16, 2009
    #8
  9. BigH55

    ndepratt Equipment Junkie

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2009
    Messages:
    796
    Likes Received:
    73
    Location:
    Joplin, MO
    about 1.5"-2" from the edges of the acrylic sheet, IMO.

    870gph, but what rating at your head height? I'm not too familiar with those pumps... however even with that GPH rating i'm sure you'll be just fine if this is plumbed into your existing system.
     
    ndepratt, Apr 16, 2009
    #9
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.