Override the timer for moonlight

Discussion in 'Do It Yourself (DIY)' started by AuntKaren, Mar 31, 2006.

  1. AuntKaren

    AuntKaren

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2006
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Peculiar, MO
    :grumble: We have a 24G Nano DX
    The moonlight lamp and the other lamps are on the same on/off switch. We have the light(s) on a timer and the moonlight is never on in the dark. Could someone guide me through reconnecting or something so that we can turn the moonlight on after the main lighting goes off?
     
    AuntKaren, Mar 31, 2006
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. AuntKaren

    amonya

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2005
    Messages:
    197
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    fort worth,tx usa
    Why would you want the actinic lights to come back on after lights out?most of the time youll need two stripps both with timers to have a dawn dusk effect.
     
    amonya, Apr 11, 2006
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. AuntKaren

    jhnrb

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2005
    Messages:
    4,038
    Likes Received:
    457
    Location:
    CALIF.
    Provide a link where I can view the specs for your light system. seems to me if moon lights are what you have, then they should be able to operate when the mains are off. something not right here. so post a link and ill take a look at what you have and see if i can help.
     
    jhnrb, Apr 12, 2006
    #3
  4. AuntKaren

    AuntKaren

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2006
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Peculiar, MO
    Actually I got some detailed instructions with pictures on how to override it. If you like I can provide you with that link. It is very well done and even an electrical novice like myself can follow the directions.
     
    AuntKaren, Apr 13, 2006
    #4
  5. AuntKaren

    jhnrb

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2005
    Messages:
    4,038
    Likes Received:
    457
    Location:
    CALIF.
    good luck glad you found the information your needed. once its done and if all is well post your directions and light hood model and manufacturer in the diy forum. others will probably like to see it. good luck with your lights
     
    jhnrb, Apr 13, 2006
    #5
  6. AuntKaren

    Butch 36

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2006
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Houma Louisiana
    I do airconditioning..so I used a refrigeration timer that has normally open and normally closed circuits..So you would hook the moon lights to the normally closed circuit and your reg.lights on the normally open circuit.They are made to last.they can go inside or outside.HEAVY DUTY....kinda complicated...or you can use two timers
     
    Butch 36, Apr 13, 2006
    #6
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.