Paranoid

arod4481

Reefing newb
Hello,
I am new to this hobbie and I am at the beginning stages of having a saltwater tank. Forgive me, I probably didn't do as much research as I could of before I bought my tank but I am trying to make up for it now. I have searched websites trying to get answers to a couple of my questions but was never not confused with the info I got. So if any of you have any advice for me please let me know.
I have a 26 gallon tank and I have had it set up for about 3 weeks and have had 3 damsels in there for two. All of the levels are good so far and I will probably do a partial water change this week. One thing though is one of my fish disappeared. Has this ever happend to anyone??Do fish eat other fish??

Another is that my live rock has some mold/icicle like things growing on it and I just want to know if this is normal or I need to take any action.

And last I would appriciate any recommendations on what fish would be good to have. Like I said I have 3 damsels now (well 2 actually) but I don't really like the fact that they are so mean to eachother. If I introduced other fish in there eventually (after my first cycle is over) would they be mean to the new fish? I'm not picky I would just like to add some more color to my tank.

Thanks to anyone who responds.

Paranoid:

Fish disappearing can be expected during the cycling period. Is your tank covered? I have an open tank and unfortuentely loose fish about twice a year to jumpers. If they do die in the tank though it wouldn't be uncommon for other fish to eat on it.

How does your ammonia, nitrite and nitrate test out? Has your tank completely finished the cycle? I wouldn't add anything else till it has finished this process then add slowly after the process I.E. dont go get 5 fish and add them all at once... One or two a week till you have about 5 to 6 total inches of fish (that would be the general rule for a tank your size).