Phosphate reactor

Discussion in 'Lighting, Filtration & Other Equipment' started by LOSTTAC, Oct 30, 2008.

  1. LOSTTAC

    LOSTTAC

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2008
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    trenton,nj
    I have a Kent Marine Phosphate Reactor that i use with PhosBan Media. I know when using PhosBan that i'm not suppose to have the media tumbling inside the reactor. The question is if I use Kent Marine Power-Phos media instead what should the new water flow pressure be. Can i have the media tumbling or should it be the same as Phosban.
     
    LOSTTAC, Oct 30, 2008
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. LOSTTAC

    yote Ceritfied Mantis Hunter Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2006
    Messages:
    26,996
    Likes Received:
    3,868
    Location:
    Ringgold,Ga
    I've never used the Kent media.But I'm guessing its about the same as the Phos-ban.So I dont think I would make it tumble.
     
    yote, Oct 30, 2008
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. LOSTTAC

    dustin_P74

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2008
    Messages:
    9,262
    Likes Received:
    657
    Location:
    Marietta, GA USA
    you dont want it tumbling because the tumbling will pulverize the media, so thats why you cut the flow back
     
    dustin_P74, Oct 30, 2008
    #3
  4. LOSTTAC

    ccCapt Reef Hacker Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    3,302
    Likes Received:
    815
    Location:
    Northeast PA
    Actually you DO want it to tumble gently. If it's tumbling too much is can break down, but if you don't have it tumbling at all it can turn into a solid chunk of iron and you won't be able to get it out of the reactor.
     
    ccCapt, Oct 30, 2008
    #4
  5. LOSTTAC

    yote Ceritfied Mantis Hunter Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2006
    Messages:
    26,996
    Likes Received:
    3,868
    Location:
    Ringgold,Ga
    That makes sense to me.Never knew that though.
     
    yote, Oct 30, 2008
    #5
  6. LOSTTAC

    ccCapt Reef Hacker Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    3,302
    Likes Received:
    815
    Location:
    Northeast PA
    Iron Oxide Hydroxide (GFO) Phosphate Binders by Randy Holmes-Farley
    From the article....
    "Many aquarists use GFO in a fluidized bed reactor. This method reduces the likelihood of forming the particles into an unusable solid cake, although it does not always prevent this from happening. Some manufacturers sell reactors for this purpose. Some aquarists that have used the GFO in a traditional media bag report that it formed a brick in short order. Such caking may relate to calcium carbonate precipitation, or even to bacteria that are known to be able to knit the surfaces of two small iron oxide hydroxide particles together into a single particle.[SIZE=-1]16"[/SIZE]
     
    ccCapt, Oct 31, 2008
    #6
  7. LOSTTAC

    Piggy

    Joined:
    May 27, 2007
    Messages:
    3,517
    Likes Received:
    484
    Location:
    Elkridge, MD
    The directions that come with the reactor says slightly tumbleing. I really new to replace my media. I finally put it on my PU list.
     
    Piggy, Oct 31, 2008
    #7
  8. LOSTTAC

    LOSTTAC

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2008
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    trenton,nj
    Thanks everyone I wasn't sure on how to set the water flow up with the new media. I just have a slight tumble so hopefully it wont become a brick.
     
    LOSTTAC, Oct 31, 2008
    #8
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.