Phytoplankton culture

blueray

Reefing newb
Hi
I am new to this hobby. I just start my tank about 6 months ago. I try to set up the phytoplankton culture for my coral. Does any one here in Chattanooga has culture that I can use as starter. I would be appreciate.

Thank you

Mak

You know you can go to bermuda and I believe pet care warehouse has it as well there are different varieties of live phytoplankton foods I would do it that way just get you a bottle fill it with saltwater with a specific gravity of 1.019 dump it in there use lighting instructions and go that route. Shake it daily so it doesnt settle after a month half it up and do it again put half in a bottle for feeding and use the other half as reproductive cells.

Ive got several of the florida aqua farms algae discs, swabs, and rotifer screen. I plan on someday culturing my own but havent had the time yet. the algae discs are pretty old so I dont know how long they are good. I dont have any of the growing solution though. I wander if you can just use DTs as the starter batch?

Nope, people use to do that, but now they mix three strains of algea into the bottles which prevents you from starting a successful culture.

Just what I've read, don't know for sure.
Brandon

Thank for the answers guys. What do you feed you coral? Right now, I use frozen food and seafood ( I chop it up and mix it together) . I feed it every 2-3 days.

Mak

I'm feeding two cubes hikari rotifers, 1 cube hikari brine, 1 cube hikari mysis every other night and nori algea on clips on the other days.

What type of corals/fish do you have in your system.

Brandon

I feed mostly frozen mysis shrimp, but vary it with home made food (seafood, algae, vitamins, all kinds of good stuff ) accasionally I feed different ocean nutrition flakes (maybe once or twice a week). I feed at least once a day. tank is mostly LPS and fish so I believe in a good feeding.

1 Cinnamon Clownfish
1 Sebae Clownfish
1 Pink Tip Haitian Anemone
1 Condy Anemone