Planning a new tank

NGuay

Reefing newb
I am new to saltwater aquariums and fairly new to aquariums in general. I just set up a 29 gallon coffee table tank I was given from my neighbor and I've caught the bug. I have been doing some research and will of course be doing some more. I planned on following Drs Foster & Smith's five easy steps to setting up an aquarium which can be found here:
http://www.drsfostersmith.com/pic/article.cfm?acatid=427&aid=419

I am compiling a list of the equipment I will need. I want to set up the tank to require as little maintenance as possible. I'm planning on a 90 gallon reef tank and this is the list of equipment I have been able to compile.

1) Wet/Dry filter - Proclear Aquatics Pro Series Wet/Dry Filtration w/Prefilter
or Marineland Tidepool II for 80-120 Gal Tank w/ S.O.S. Prefilter?
--both include a protein skimmer(the prefilter)
--does anybody do protein skimmer only? w/ live rock

2) Quiet One Pump (3000) - Will do 600 GPH at 4 feet

3) 9 watt Turbo-Twist UV Sterilizer 100-200 gph up to 125 gallons or
18 watt Turbo-Twist UV Sterilizer 200-300 gph up to 250 gallons?
--I was thinking the higher watt for more flow?
--Are UV sterilizers a good idea? Do they kill the good bacteria?

4) Submergable Visi-Therm Deluxe Heater (300 watt) 55 to 100 gallons
Should I get two?? Maybe two 200 watt for each side of tank?

5) Lighting system - Haven't decided yet, need the tank first.

6) Hydometer, thermometer, and test kit.

6) Sea Salts

7) DFS Select Lalo Live Rock 30 lbs
Plus DFS Select Fiji Premium Live Rock 45 lbs

8.) Southdown Tropical Play Sand (aragonite) from Home Depot for substrate or possibly Crushed coral

9) Then comes the cleanup crew, followed by corals, and then some fish!

Any suggestions or comments are greatly appreciated. I want to ensure proper flow and filtration.

Thanks,
Nathan

Last edited: