planning tank

predator

Reefing newb
i was thinking of setting up a 55g that i have for sea horses. would this be an adequate tank for them i saw on seahorse source that they need a tank at least 18 in deep so it would meet that but what else do i need to consider that may not be obvious? i have plenty of pods from other fuges that i could transfer and let them reproduce in there. and i also have a bunch of cheato and caulerpa in another tank and i was thinking of getting some mangrove plants will all these be ok with the horses? how many would i be able to keep? i would like to be able to keep two pairs and seahorse source says i can but i wanted a second opinion. the species i was looking at were H. erectus, H. kuda, and H. reidi which would be best? this will be my first seahorse tank but i have kept other delicate species like sharks and stingrays. so i am not a beginner but like to get to know the species i have. :) thanks in advance!

Two pair would be perfect in a tank that size. A 55 makes a good tank size, just don't make the sand bed too shallow. Pods are good, but you will need to feed your seahorses, at 2-3 times a day.

I prefer refugiums on my tank, I would consider that. Seahorses like macro, but don't think that's the only thing you can do with the tank. One of my tanks is a soft coral reef. Live rock is also good, just make sure you have more open spaces than you would a typical reef.

My preference is H. reidi or H. erectus. True captive bred H. kuda are hard to come by in the US. H. erectus is by in far the easiest, though H. reidi are pretty hardy still.

One thing to keep in mind is that you'll want to run the tank cooler than a reef tank; seahorses do best at temps under 75F. Even tropical species. This is because they are prone to bacterial infections, and bacteria grows more quickly at higher temperatures.

AAccckkk, sorry I missed this thread!

+1 Aquagirl!