Powerhead question for newbie

finestbeast

Reefing newb
Im new to salt so bare with me...Im setting up a 35 gal hexagon tank and Id like suggestions as to where to place the powerhead. I have one and its a 450. Should I get another and if not where should this one be placed for the best results. Im attaching a pick of the tank below. Im about 4 days into the cycle...thanx
saltwater with cleanup.jpg

Powerheads arent about just one powerful one in the tank. You need to figure out how much circulation your tank needs an hour and then look at your powerheads to figure out what they can do. In my 60 gallon alone I have 5 and have positioned them around the tank so I dont have any dead spots in the tank. With dead spots come issues like cyano. In your tank it would be pretty easy to position the powerheads in such a way that it bounced off of the glass and gave more movement to more places in the tank. I also cant tell from the rock placement in the tank, but you'll regret having the rocks right up against the glass without any water movement behind them

So you suggest rocks placed in such a way so that they arent touching the glass? Good to know before I actually added some fish. Tanks still cycling so Im figuring that I have some wiggle room. Ill do some adjusting in the morning...and odds are purchase atleast one more powerhead before the fish...another question that maybe yall could help with. Ive seen live rock in the store with actual growthes on them. Do I need to wait for the cycle for those also? Theyre a bit more pricey...

No, I don't waste money on that stuff. If you want, you can buy some and toss it in, it will help kick start the good bacterial growth.