Pros & Cons of a DSB in sump ?

Discussion in 'New to Reefing' started by Lesely, Nov 9, 2014.

  1. Lesely

    Lesely

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2013
    Messages:
    499
    Likes Received:
    285
    Location:
    Australia
    Hi, Have just placed our order for the new sump to go with our new build. We have planned space for a DSB inthe sump, I am now hearing mixed opinions regarding have a DSB.
    Some people are saying to have a double fuge instead ?
    What is your opinion, and what has worked for you ?
    Is there any reason a DSB didn't work, or why you would suggest we don't have one.
    I have included the plans for the sump so any suggestions or improvements greatly accepted photo.JPG
     
    Lesely, Nov 9, 2014
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. Lesely

    ReeferRob

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2014
    Messages:
    755
    Likes Received:
    386
    I have a small 15cm deep plastic container in mine so that when change out time comes it'll be easy. You can do it in a corner of the fuge or have a dedicated space for it. The main thing with DSBs is to have good flow across them and not to have detritus settle into them clogging them.
     
    ReeferRob, Nov 9, 2014
    #2
    Lesely likes this.
    1. Advertisements

  3. Lesely

    monique

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2013
    Messages:
    369
    Likes Received:
    141
    Location:
    northern ontario, canada
    what is the point of a deep sand bed anyways? would the rock and sand in the main tank not do the same thing?
     
    monique, Nov 9, 2014
    #3
  4. Lesely

    ReeferRob

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2014
    Messages:
    755
    Likes Received:
    386
    There are some that say they're good at getting rid of nitrates, you make it deep enough to become oxygen devoid in the bottom which will reduce nitrates. We used a similar device in the 80s that had 3 compartments to cultivate anaerobic bacteria. They need to be at least 15cm or 6" deep.
     
    ReeferRob, Nov 9, 2014
    #4
    Lesely and Aquarian like this.
  5. Lesely

    sen5241b

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2008
    Messages:
    5,029
    Likes Received:
    387
    Location:
    Arlington VA
    DSBs are a complete waste of time and money. They have been scientifically studied and no benefit was found. A couple inches of sand is plenty to hold beneficial bacteria.
     
    sen5241b, Dec 7, 2014
    #5
    Lesely likes this.
  6. Lesely

    mariobrothersleeve squirrel

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2012
    Messages:
    2,219
    Likes Received:
    580
    I'd check out remote dsb. Deep sand beds need to be cleaned or will cause 'old tank syndrome.' There is nothing wrong with dsb, anaerobic bacteria thrive in areas such as this, but the nutrients need to be released from time to time.
    Some folks use a 5g bucket of sand for filtration. There is no right or wrong or 'scientific fact' to promote or deny a dsb, more a preference and knowing how to work with it.
     
    mariobrothersleeve, Dec 12, 2014
    #6
  7. Lesely

    Lesely

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2013
    Messages:
    499
    Likes Received:
    285
    Location:
    Australia
    Hi, have decided to not go with a DSB in the new sump. We are going to have 2 chambers of Chateau instead, If it doesn't work well enough then down the track we can add one.
    Thanks for all the suggestions and feedback, very interesting.
     
    Lesely, Dec 12, 2014
    #7
  8. Lesely

    mariobrothersleeve squirrel

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2012
    Messages:
    2,219
    Likes Received:
    580
    Cheato is great to work with. The more intense the light, the faster it grows.
     
    mariobrothersleeve, Dec 12, 2014
    #8
    Lesely likes this.
  9. Lesely

    wontonflip I failed Kobayashi Maru

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2008
    Messages:
    10,443
    Likes Received:
    975
    Location:
    VA USA
    My 45g that I used to have had 0 nitrates because of the chaeto. Made my job easier.
     
    wontonflip, Dec 13, 2014
    #9
    Lesely likes this.
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.