Protein Skimmer question?

clownfish77

Reefing newb
:question: How fast should they fill up and what should it look like? I’m new to saltwater and I don’t think I have it setup right or something. It fills up fast with in hours and it looks like water. Is this how they should work?

Nope, it should take a week or so and be smelly green nasty fish poop. Usually if its going crazy like that then you have added some additive that is making it run like crazy. Try to leave it off for a few days and do not add any additives to the tank then try it again.

Chris is right, you do not need to run the protein skimmer during the cycling of the system. once you have nitrates reading and a fish or two then you can turn on the protien skimmer. also if you add aditives to the system your skimmer will go crazy for a while, otherwise you will need to lower the water level in the riser tube by adjusting the gate or other adjustment per the installation manuel that came with the skimmer. there should be a way to adjust the height of the water level in the skimmer. you need to also check the gph you are running through the skimmer and make sure it is within the manufacturer's spec's. finally see the helpful articles forum and there you will find an article or two on protein skimmers. hope something here helps.

Thank you for your help! My tank has been running for 4 months now. I have one clown fish, live rock, live sand, one feather duster, 3 anenomie, a yellow clown gobbie, and my cleaning crew. I still need more live rock and I'm many more things as I go. My skimmer has always filled up with water like that and my tank was given to me with out any instructions. All the info I get the better. I have read books on saltwater, do you know any good ones?