Purple coralline what's the big deal?

Altohombre

The Tennis Pro Reefer
I know I am new to the saltwater world, but why do people want purple coralline? I mean I would rather have the pink and red and other varieties of color show up on my Lalo rock than just one big purple rock. And what are the benefits of having it other than color? Also since nobody thinks that Purple Up works, what should I be using if anything at all. I don't plan on corals at this time.

Last edited:
Coralline can be white, purple, red, pink, green... We want coralline on our rocks because it makes it a lot harder for nuisance algae to take ahold and establish iteself on the rocks. Coralline and nuisance algae compete for rock space, in a way. I think that Purple Up works! I think it did amazing stuff for both my tanks and I will use it again in my new nano when I set it up. It doesn't hurt to try, in my opinion. To get coralline to grow without using Purple Up, make sure your calcium and magnesium are at the proper levels and that you have good lighting.

Biff nailed it. where coralline is, hair algae ain't. I would much rather look at pretty purple and red coloring than gnarly hair algae

-Doc

Also understand that most coralline algae available likes moderate light rather than bright light. Most live rock is taken from areas where the rock is 30 or 40 feet deep, or deeper. Most reef aquariums have moderate lighting. Hence most coralline algaes available do best in areas without intense light. Nuisance algae can readily overgrow coralline algae if conditions are bad enough to promote their growth. Coralline algae likes pollution and stagnation no more than corals, and really is not that much more tolerant of pollution and stagnation than coral. Fish, now, those suckers are pretty tolerant to pollution and stagnation, in comparison to coral and coralline.

but will Purple Up only make purple color or will it just increase whatever color the rock already has deep within it?