Putting caulerpa in my sump???

Discussion in 'Reef Fishes' started by SalteeDogg, Apr 15, 2008.

  1. SalteeDogg

    SalteeDogg

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2007
    Messages:
    383
    Likes Received:
    19
    Location:
    Fort Worth, Tx USA
    My new 40 gallon seahorse tank has a built in overflow, I am not too familiar with overflows/sumps but the water goes in the overflow, the sump is built into the tank, and is pumped back out which their is a big filter to catch everything. I didn't want to put bioballs so the only thing I could find was grape caulerpa. Would this be good to use? Also is anybody familiar with this setup? The middle chamber in the pic never gets water, their is a pvc pipe that comes up so im assuming it might be an overflow if the pump goes off. The water comes in on the right side and goes under the middle chamber and is pumped back out. The tank is new to me and I am still figuring out how it works. Sorry for all the questions and to rant on. H
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
     
    SalteeDogg, Apr 15, 2008
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. SalteeDogg

    cthegame

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2007
    Messages:
    8,704
    Likes Received:
    641
    Location:
    California
    I recommend using Chaeto instead of Caulerpa.
     
    cthegame, Apr 15, 2008
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. SalteeDogg

    SalteeDogg

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2007
    Messages:
    383
    Likes Received:
    19
    Location:
    Fort Worth, Tx USA
    Is it better then caulerpa? What about using both?
     
    SalteeDogg, Apr 15, 2008
    #3
  4. SalteeDogg

    reeffreak

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2007
    Messages:
    11,316
    Likes Received:
    2,078
    Location:
    Clarksville,Tn
    Sorry,I'm not familar with that setup.

    Is that caulerpa able to get light?If not remove it,if it is then I would replace it with chaeto.It's a less evasive algae and much easier to grow.
     
    reeffreak, Apr 15, 2008
    #4
  5. SalteeDogg

    SalteeDogg

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2007
    Messages:
    383
    Likes Received:
    19
    Location:
    Fort Worth, Tx USA
    No light but I can rig a little light if thats all I need?
     
    SalteeDogg, Apr 15, 2008
    #5
  6. SalteeDogg

    reeffreak

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2007
    Messages:
    11,316
    Likes Received:
    2,078
    Location:
    Clarksville,Tn
    You will need light for macroalgae to live.It doesn't need much wattage but something in the 6500k area is best.Chaeto on the otherhand will do fine under almost any spectrum.
     
    reeffreak, Apr 15, 2008
    #6
  7. SalteeDogg

    Bifferwine I am a girl

    Joined:
    May 13, 2006
    Messages:
    46,915
    Likes Received:
    5,888
    Location:
    Lynnwood, WA and missing Tucson, AZ
    Freak is right, you will need to put a light over the place you plan on keeping your macroalgae, or else it will just rot and die. Caulerpa is okay, but it has a tendency to turn your water yellow. Chaeto won't stain your water, so it's a better choice. I have both in my fuge, but that's only because the clump of chaeto I bought had a teeny tiny sprig of caulerpa stuck to it, and the caulerpa ended up spreading like crazy.
     
    Bifferwine, Apr 15, 2008
    #7
  8. SalteeDogg

    fatman

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2007
    Messages:
    1,777
    Likes Received:
    243
    Location:
    Fairbanks, Alaska USA (The Last Frontier)
    If you provide 24 hours of light per day to the caulerpa it willnot go sexual and will not discolor your water. It is a larger exporter of nutrients than chaeto. A small twist bulb power compact (around 18 watts) that is made to screw into a regular light bulb socket would be more than adequate for your algae. They come in 6500K, and can be found at discount stores and Home Depot and Lowes. I use chaeto for the reasons given by others and the fact that I do not wish to run lights 24 hours per day over my refugium, but Caulerpa does not have to be excluded as a choice as its problems can be controlled easily enough.
     
    fatman, Apr 15, 2008
    #8
  9. SalteeDogg

    sen5241b

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2008
    Messages:
    5,029
    Likes Received:
    387
    Location:
    Arlington VA
    Caulerpa is illegal in California.
     
    sen5241b, Apr 15, 2008
    #9
  10. SalteeDogg

    SalteeDogg

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2007
    Messages:
    383
    Likes Received:
    19
    Location:
    Fort Worth, Tx USA
    why is that?
     
    SalteeDogg, Apr 15, 2008
    #10
  11. SalteeDogg

    SSalty Team Liquid Force

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2006
    Messages:
    1,752
    Likes Received:
    104
    Location:
    North Dakota
    Because of its rapid growth. It can take over a harbor in no time.
     
    SSalty, Apr 15, 2008
    #11
  12. SalteeDogg

    kyle

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2008
    Messages:
    582
    Likes Received:
    19
    Location:
    Burlington,Ontario
    really, thats interesting.
     
    kyle, Apr 15, 2008
    #12
  13. SalteeDogg

    cthegame

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2007
    Messages:
    8,704
    Likes Received:
    641
    Location:
    California
    Yup that's true. They have already spend millions removing so much of it i think.
     
    cthegame, Apr 15, 2008
    #13
  14. SalteeDogg

    Bifferwine I am a girl

    Joined:
    May 13, 2006
    Messages:
    46,915
    Likes Received:
    5,888
    Location:
    Lynnwood, WA and missing Tucson, AZ
    Yeah, I've read a lot about it being illegal in certain places because people with aquariums dump the contents of their tanks when they move, and then they have all these problems with the invasive species (like caulerpa) taking over and destroying the native ecosystems.
     
    Bifferwine, Apr 15, 2008
    #14
  15. SalteeDogg

    sen5241b

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2008
    Messages:
    5,029
    Likes Received:
    387
    Location:
    Arlington VA
    Its cost California a lot of tax payer money. It clogs not just harbors but canals, water intakes, etc.
     
    sen5241b, Apr 15, 2008
    #15
  16. SalteeDogg

    fatman

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2007
    Messages:
    1,777
    Likes Received:
    243
    Location:
    Fairbanks, Alaska USA (The Last Frontier)
    It sure removes organic nutrients from a reef tank though. The 24 hour a day lights get old though.
     
    fatman, Apr 17, 2008
    #16
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.