pvc for aquascape

Discussion in 'Do It Yourself (DIY)' started by hingreef, Nov 24, 2010.

  1. hingreef

    hingreef

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2010
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Chattanooga, TN
    I want a PVC box type setup to put some of my rocks on during aquascape. How do I get it not to float? If I put it together underwater I'm afraid water would be trapped & possibly be stagnant maybe effecting water paremeters. If I drill holes I'm afraid worms, snails, exc would get in.
     
    hingreef, Nov 24, 2010
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. hingreef

    chiqui bb

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2009
    Messages:
    397
    Likes Received:
    36
    Location:
    Rockford, Illinois
    I would think the weight of the rocks would keep it from floating and drilling holes will help with the stagnant water issue. I wouldn't worry about snails or worms getting in there. If they do, they will help with the detritus that may collect. If there isn't anything in the pvc for them to eat, they will move on to greener pastures! You could super glue the pvc structure to the bottom of your tank but that's a permanent location.
     
    chiqui bb, Nov 24, 2010
    #2
    hingreef likes this.
    1. Advertisements

  3. hingreef

    Smitty

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Messages:
    9,609
    Likes Received:
    1,587
    Location:
    Chicago/Oaklawn IL
    +1 Chiqui
     
    Smitty, Nov 24, 2010
    #3
  4. hingreef

    project5k

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2009
    Messages:
    4,466
    Likes Received:
    154
    Location:
    Seguin Tx
    fill the pvc with aquarium rocks, like the $3 bag from wallyworld... then seal it up... thats what i do....
     
    project5k, Nov 24, 2010
    #4
    hingreef likes this.
  5. hingreef

    hingreef

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2010
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Chattanooga, TN
    Thanks everyone!!! I like both ideas, the rock idea is very creative! I guess I was worried about with drilling the worms may get trapped inside. I hear you can "trap" bristleworms with a tube by drilling holes & putting food inside & I just didn't want anything getting stuck & dying in there & raising any water parameters.
     
    hingreef, Nov 25, 2010
    #5
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.