Questions about my 100g SW

emily120289

Reefing newb
Hey, I'm fairly new to saltwater and I recently purchased a 100g tank (72 1/2 x 18 1/2 x 19 3/8) about 2 months ago hoping to start a SW reef tank. I've done my research and let my tank cycle for awhile, its been roughly a little under 2 months now and my readings of my tank are as follows, 80 degrees F, salinity is 1.022, my PH is 8.2, ammonia = 0, Nitrite = 0, Nitrate = 10. My question is, is my tank fully cycled? Would it be ok too add fish, corals, inverts etc? Below is a list of fish I would like to add to my tank, any suggestions would be great! Thanks.

:sfish:Stocking list :sfish:
1. x2 Ocellaris Clownfish (Pair / Tank Raised)
2. x3 Blue/Green Chromis
3. x3 Bartlett Anthias (1 Male, 2 Female)
4. x1 Blue Hippo Tang (Baby, 2 inches long)
5. x1 Skunk cleaner Shrimp
6. x1 Purple Dottyback
7. x1 Flame Angel

Thanks again.

Did you see nitrites and ammonia go up? If yes, and they are back down to zero, then your tank has cycled. Two months is long enough for any tank to fully cycle, so I think you are good to go. I would raise your salinity up a little bit before you add any animals -- to 1.025 or 1.026. Everything else looks great. What did you use to cycle? Most people use live rock and/or a piece of shrimp from the grocery store. I assume you have live rock and sand in the tank already?

That looks like a great stocking list. You may want to add another cleaner shrimp though. Mine have always like to chill in pairs. :)

Also, think about your clean up crew. You should add them around the same time you start adding fish. Snails, crabs, starfish, other types of shrimp etc.

Great start!

Great news! Yes, I used the live sand/live rock method to cycle my tank. My nitrites and ammonia did raise up, and have gone back down to a steady 0 for the past few days. Thank you for the suggestions! All that patience has finally paid off! thanks again.

Thank you!