red/brown algae

Dustyrose

Reefing newb
I need some serious help. I'm really new to this salt water tank stuff. And I'm begining to feel like this :frustrat: Its a 55 gallon tank and its been set up for just over 2 months now. According to the local fish store, the water is perfect, the salinity(however that is spelt) is perfect, yet I cannot get rid of the algae. I'm told its red, but I also believe there is brown. There is a scum layer floating on the top of the tank, also it will cover the silk like plants and the sides of the tank. I also have something brown growing on the bottom rocks. The tank now holds only about 7lbs of live rock, a tomato clown, black damsel and a tang. I have used chemi-clean over and over in the tank. After treating the tank, waiting 48 hours, cleaning the tank, suctioning out the rocks and about 10 gallons of water, washing the plants, each time and within days.. it starts coming back. I'm not sure what information you all need to see if you can help, but the tank has a canister filter on it which I put in a chemi-pure filter thing in it and the light is that one with the blue growing light, a regular light and moon light. (told you I was a newbie, I don't even know the names of things, but I can find out if needed) The last cleaning I was told again, by the local fish store, to take out the live rocks and use a vegitable brush on them to clean the algae off and to boil the plants, which I did, but alas, the algae is back again. I also put in another layer of a filter that is suppose to stop algae from growing.. isn't working yet! When I think back to when this started it was when I added the live rock. Could it be possible the live rock is causing the algae?