Red Bubble and Hair Algae

Discussion in 'Algae' started by drm180, Dec 23, 2010.

  1. drm180

    drm180

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2009
    Messages:
    300
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    WV
    I have had one patch of hair algae for a while now. It doesn't spread very fast but I believe it is beginning to grow some more. Just a day or two ago though, I found red bubble algae on my powerheads along with a few green bubble on my rocks. I know I need to take the bubbles out. Should I just remove the powerheads and scrub them?
    Should I leave the hair algae to remove some nutrients or should I pull it out?
    I'm not even sure why I'm getting algae. Phosphate and Nitrates have always been zero and I run Phosban in a reactor just incase.
     
    drm180, Dec 23, 2010
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. drm180

    Cathic Fish Wrangler

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2009
    Messages:
    1,896
    Likes Received:
    190
    Location:
    Tuscaloosa, Alabama
    First Id find out why its growing, then id scrub the crap out of the powerheads and rock before it spreads. An emerald crab will eat the bubble algae, the hair algae will need a standard cleanup crew.

    Id find out whats causing it.
     
    Cathic, Dec 23, 2010
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. drm180

    drm180

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2009
    Messages:
    300
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    WV
    What could be causing it? Tank is almost a 10 months old. Lighting is on for 10 hours although I am going to change my bulbs after Christmas because these are 10 months old. As I said Nitrates and Phosphate are both always zero. I run a Remora skimmer. I don't know what it could be.
     
    drm180, Dec 23, 2010
    #3
  4. drm180

    Cathic Fish Wrangler

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2009
    Messages:
    1,896
    Likes Received:
    190
    Location:
    Tuscaloosa, Alabama
    How often do you change the phosphate media?
     
    Cathic, Dec 23, 2010
    #4
  5. drm180

    drm180

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2009
    Messages:
    300
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    WV
    I run it for about 2 weeks at a time. I don't always use it though. About every two months I run some. There isn't a really a need to use it since I've never had phosphates, but I had it so I figured I would use it.
     
    drm180, Dec 23, 2010
    #5
  6. drm180

    drm180

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2009
    Messages:
    300
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    WV
    I scrubbed the red bubble algae off, which surprisingly took some effort. I pulled some of the hair algae out as well. I retested the water and still I can't find any reason for the algae. I also have some dark brown-black spots in my sand and on my glass. I have no idea what to do...
     
    drm180, Dec 24, 2010
    #6
  7. drm180

    Bifferwine I am a girl

    Joined:
    May 13, 2006
    Messages:
    46,915
    Likes Received:
    5,888
    Location:
    Lynnwood, WA and missing Tucson, AZ
    If you use an RODI unit, when was the last time you changed the cartridges? Are they due to be replaced?
     
    Bifferwine, Dec 24, 2010
    #7
  8. drm180

    drm180

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2009
    Messages:
    300
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    WV
    I don't use RO but I use two carbon filters and a DI. I just changed them last month.
     
    drm180, Dec 25, 2010
    #8
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.