Red Sea Reef Foundation Test Kit - Old and New Kits have different readings

RockStacker

Reefing newb
Has anyone run into this before?
I have been using the Red Sea Reef Foundation test kit for many months now. I'm about to run out of reagents so I bought a new kit.
I then tested my water using the two different kits to see if they provide similar readings (they should, right?)

My tank parameters:
Water temperature: 80F
Specific Gravity: 1.025
pH: 8.2

Below is what I got with the test kits:

Lot# 162 (old)
Alkalinity = 7.7 dKH
Calcium = 400ppm
Magnesium = 1420 ppm

Lot# 293 (new)
Alkalinity = 8.8 dKH
Calcium = Over 500ppm (I used up 1ml of the titration reagent and the test sample had not yet reached the end point color)
Magnesium = over 1600ppm (I used up 1 ml of the titration reagent and the test sample had not yet reached the end point color)

Now I am not sure if my new kit is bad, or if my old kit was bad all along.

I am leaning towards the new kit being bad because those Ca and Mg readings are way too high considering what I dose.

that's a big problem with test kits. many new and old are really not that accurate. they have done lab grade testing and use different test kits. old new and expired kits. some of the expired kits had closer results then some of the brand new kits.

Have you tried to run a test with the same kit twice and see if you get the same result? It's probably unlikely but maybe the technique you use is causing a problem. I often wondered how accurate those tests were. I'll have to test mine out as well

Have you tried to run a test with the same kit twice and see if you get the same result? It's probably unlikely but maybe the technique you use is causing a problem. I often wondered how accurate those tests were. I'll have to test mine out as well

Yeah I have run at least three tests on old and new kit.
Both kits had consistent results. The new kit always registered higher values (too high) compared to the old kit.