Reef Nano Christmas gift, PLEASE HELP

Kat

Reefing newb
Hello, I'm totally new to this hobby and to forums,I could sure use your advice. My son gave me a 14g nano tank and I really love it even though I think I'm flirting with disaster. He decided it needed to be set up on christmas day. he brought Ocean direct caribbean live sand, a small bag of sand from his tank, instant ocean reef salt, 3 blue leg hermits, 2 dwarf red tip hermits, a scarlet reef hermit, a cerith snail, a turbo snail and three small pieces of live rock (about a pound) also he brought what he called skeleton rock. I lost 1 blue leg during the cycle and my nitrate is still a little high. now I have green algae and that really nasty red slimey stuff. I have bought 3 books and just ordered another one recomended here. I have done some water changes and the nitrate is going down, I turned off the lights yesterday. I think I need to get more live rock if I can get this algae under control. any advice would be greatly appreciated

Kat its nice to have you here Im new also but the folks here are ultra-knowledgable. I would suggest getting more live rock the folks here say 1-2lbs of live rock per gallon and most gravetate towards the 2lb side.

Thank you for the welcome, what do you think of the rock skeletons should I leave them in or replace with live rock? will they become live rock?

Im not really sure what skeleton rock is. I imagine if just a base rock that eventually the live rock you have will seed it with the living organisms eventually. The more knowing people will be chiming in soon Im sure and they are more qualified to answer. While your waiting skim through some of the posts in the Newbie Forum they have a wealth of info and if you find something you dont understand do a search<its in the smaller writing at the top of the page> and youll get a bunch of places to make it more clear. youve come to the write place Im a member of a few different forums and this is the best one in my opinion.