reptile turned reef

Discussion in 'Fish Tanks' started by emily120289, Jan 30, 2013.

  1. emily120289

    emily120289

    Joined:
    May 6, 2012
    Messages:
    167
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    Beantown, MA
    Found a cheap tank on craigslist.. it was used to house some type of lizard before.. would it be possibly to clean it out and turn it into a reef tank?
     
    emily120289, Jan 30, 2013
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. emily120289

    emily120289

    Joined:
    May 6, 2012
    Messages:
    167
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    Beantown, MA
    Possible *
     
    emily120289, Jan 30, 2013
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. emily120289

    chichimom79 reef junkie

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2012
    Messages:
    2,999
    Likes Received:
    623
    Location:
    Southwest Missouri
    Some tanks are not rated for holding water, and are best left for the reptiles. Not sure in your case. Maybe do a leak test?
     
    chichimom79, Jan 30, 2013
    #3
  4. emily120289

    Ted Living one day at a time

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2009
    Messages:
    3,722
    Likes Received:
    447
    Location:
    San Antonio, TX
    Very true, a leak test and a good scrubbing with vinegar and water. Reptile tanks sometimes have a label on them "not for fish" I dont know for sure but I think it has something to do with the amount of silicone used.
     
    Ted, Jan 30, 2013
    #4
  5. emily120289

    wontonflip I failed Kobayashi Maru

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2008
    Messages:
    10,446
    Likes Received:
    979
    Location:
    VA USA
    I personally wouldn't risk it. What size is it?
     
    wontonflip, Jan 30, 2013
    #5
  6. emily120289

    ErinCahir Sausage Wrangler

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2010
    Messages:
    8,985
    Likes Received:
    1,470
    Location:
    Englewood, CO
    Terrariums (reptile/other animal cages) are sealed but not rated to withstand the pressure that a full aquarium is.
     
    ErinCahir, Jan 30, 2013
    #6
  7. emily120289

    Ted Living one day at a time

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2009
    Messages:
    3,722
    Likes Received:
    447
    Location:
    San Antonio, TX
    Ya what she said...
     
    Ted, Jan 31, 2013
    #7
  8. emily120289

    emily120289

    Joined:
    May 6, 2012
    Messages:
    167
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    Beantown, MA
    Well its a standard 40g Breeder 36x18x16 I believe.. it was used for turtles.. and then a lizard.. It does hold water and is in good condition.. their asking $20.00 for the tank and overall it looks good. My main concern is, would it be contaminated due to the lizards waste etc? and also, Im just afraid If I do wash it out with bleach/soap ill have algae problems and also possible ammonia problems down the road. thanks
     
    emily120289, Jan 31, 2013
    #8
  9. emily120289

    Ted Living one day at a time

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2009
    Messages:
    3,722
    Likes Received:
    447
    Location:
    San Antonio, TX
    If you use bleach rinse it well then fill and use dechlor in it...or just let it dry outside for a day or two. Dont use soap
     
    Ted, Jan 31, 2013
    #9
  10. emily120289

    joshuashih1 Seahorse Owner

    Joined:
    May 24, 2012
    Messages:
    298
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    San Jose, CA
    I have a 20 gal tall reptile tank that I am using and its doing fine but I am starting to see a little bit of mabye bubbles in the seams but i think its due to the fact that the tank is not totily leval
     
    joshuashih1, Feb 1, 2013
    #10
  11. emily120289

    ErinCahir Sausage Wrangler

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2010
    Messages:
    8,985
    Likes Received:
    1,470
    Location:
    Englewood, CO
    It's either going to burst from the stress of not being rated to hold that much pressure or from being unlevel. I'd switch it out ASAP
     
    ErinCahir, Feb 2, 2013
    #11
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.