researching

Brian_G

overly obsessed
hello i just thought i would introduce myself.

im new to the hobby and am still researching before i get into it too much.

im sure you will hear from me again as i ask many questions

thank you in advance for all your help

Welcome to the site and the hobby.
Be sure to post any and all questions you come up with,were more than happy to help.

wow i have never been in a forum this friendly. im already loving it

im thinking a 55 gallon tank. but i also saw a nice 70 gallon corner style tank at one of my LFS. so i may go for that if i cant find a used tank for a nice price.

im thinking of a reef tank starting slow and going from there. live rock and sand to get the tank cured and adding fish from there. and then nice corals getting it to look nice.
i dont know too much i dont think but i have been reading the conversations on this site pretty much all day. they are very interesting.

im not very sure about filters and such and how they work and what is good. i understand the nitrate, nitrite and ammonia cycle so that helps alot but still need more information on sumps(how they work) or canister filters, protein filters(what they even are or what they do)

See if I can confuse you some :mrgreen:
A sump is basically just a tank that sits under the display.It adds volume and give you a place to put equipment that you really don't want to see on the display.
The protein skimmer completely removes dissolved waste from the water column.

Hi and welcome!

Although the corner tanks look nice, the lights for them are more expensive than if you got a rectangular tank. If you are on a budget, a rectangular tank will be cheaper and easier to set up.

Although I am not really in a budget. Money is always a factor. I think I may just go for a rectangular tank for starts and work toward the bigger.

A skimmer and live rock is all you need? You don't need a sump or anything?
Is that what you are saying? That almost sounds too easy