return pump flow

try to get one that will return at the rate of 10 to 15 times tank volume.... mag pumps work among the best...remember that you will lose flow with piping and height...

Last edited:
I would reccomend a mag 12.. you will lose some flow rate coming back.. and a mag 7 is only 480gph I think at 3 or 4 ft of height.. You can always put a ball valve in coming off the pump if needed to slow it down a bit.. having a faster flow is better then to slow....

A mag 12 is a massive pump for a 55 IMO....
You also have to figure what your flow going to your sump is...No sense in having a mag 12 if you have to dial down to half flow...

How do I figure out the flow going to the sump? Sorry I'm still new to this. I'm going to build the sump and I'm just trying to figure out all the pieces I'm going to need to get this up and running.

How do I figure out the flow going to the sump? Sorry I'm still new to this. I'm going to build the sump and I'm just trying to figure out all the pieces I'm going to need to get this up and running.

The flow is based on the size of your drain line coming into the sump, mostly 3/4" Overflow box perhaps? I didnt see what you had. I have a 55, with an overflow, 3/4", it could be 1" but there's loss in fitting, so i figure 1". I have a 650 gph return pump that will suck that line dry, that is, the drain line cant keep up with the pump, so you end up throttling it back with a ball valve, placed after the pump, I also divert water to my skimmer with that, and the pump runs both flat out, no valve closed. Use 45's in the plumbing where you can, as opposed to 90's, less restrictive.