return pump for sump

Discussion in 'Lighting, Filtration & Other Equipment' started by lilduud, Jul 3, 2010.

  1. lilduud

    lilduud

    Joined:
    May 19, 2010
    Messages:
    946
    Likes Received:
    39
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    so does the gph of the sump return in comparison to the overflow have to be exact? if not which can be higher? im looking at a 300 gph overflow unit but i can only find a 350 gph return pump... it does not say if it adjustable but would it be better to have a slightly lower gph return than the overflow ro a slightly higher one...
     
    lilduud, Jul 3, 2010
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. lilduud

    Nemo10 www.facebook.com/mupulo

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2010
    Messages:
    135
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    Janesville, Wi
    the output of the pump will usually be higher than the input of the overflow. My overflow box inputs 900gph and my pump outputs 1150gph thats why i have valves on the input and output to regulate the flow going up. How big is your tannk?
     
    Nemo10, Jul 3, 2010
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. lilduud

    Bifferwine I am a girl

    Joined:
    May 13, 2006
    Messages:
    46,915
    Likes Received:
    5,888
    Location:
    Lynnwood, WA and missing Tucson, AZ
    Nemo is right. Buy a pump that is rated higher than your overflow. You will lose some of that due to head loss (the distance and direction the water has to flow when it leaves the pump to reach your tank), and you will put a ball valve on the return line anyways so that you can dial down the return pump if need be.
     
    Bifferwine, Jul 3, 2010
    #3
  4. lilduud

    Nemo10 www.facebook.com/mupulo

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2010
    Messages:
    135
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    Janesville, Wi
    Dont forget to put a check valve on the return either incase the power goes out the water wont back feed back into the sump..
     
    Nemo10, Jul 3, 2010
    #4
  5. lilduud

    lilduud

    Joined:
    May 19, 2010
    Messages:
    946
    Likes Received:
    39
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    Ita goin to be a 55... Think the overflow should be greater?
     
    lilduud, Jul 3, 2010
    #5
  6. lilduud

    Nemo10 www.facebook.com/mupulo

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2010
    Messages:
    135
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    Janesville, Wi
    what do you mean? you main tank is 55g or the sump is going to be 55g? How big is your Main tank?
     
    Nemo10, Jul 3, 2010
    #6
    Northstar24 likes this.
  7. lilduud

    lilduud

    Joined:
    May 19, 2010
    Messages:
    946
    Likes Received:
    39
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    Sorry for not being clear... The main tank will be 55 and the sump will either be a 20 or a custom depending on the stand I buy... But about 20 gallons
     
    lilduud, Jul 3, 2010
    #7
  8. lilduud

    Northstar24 The Tang Herder

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2010
    Messages:
    2,886
    Likes Received:
    380
    Location:
    Milwaukee, WI
    + Nemo

    As Nemo said, you would want the return punp to have more flow capability than the overflow, you can use a valve to match the flow from the return pump to the overflow on the tank
     
    Northstar24, Jul 3, 2010
    #8
  9. lilduud

    lilduud

    Joined:
    May 19, 2010
    Messages:
    946
    Likes Received:
    39
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    No I realize now that the return pump should be stronger than the overflow but should tr overflow be more than 300 gph inthe first place for a 55 gallon tank and 20 gallon sump
     
    lilduud, Jul 3, 2010
    #9
  10. lilduud

    Nemo10 www.facebook.com/mupulo

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2010
    Messages:
    135
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    Janesville, Wi
    I run a 800gph for a 75g. if you have a 20g sump 300 is bare minimum. You also have to take into consideration headroom incase the power goes out and if you are going to have a fuge in the sump...
     
    Nemo10, Jul 3, 2010
    #10
  11. lilduud

    lilduud

    Joined:
    May 19, 2010
    Messages:
    946
    Likes Received:
    39
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    ill just use the 800 gph version of the same overflow box.. its not all that more expensive i was just trying to save some change here and there...
     
    lilduud, Jul 3, 2010
    #11
  12. lilduud

    Nemo10 www.facebook.com/mupulo

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2010
    Messages:
    135
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    Janesville, Wi
    yea 800 gph is good for your tank :)
     
    Nemo10, Jul 3, 2010
    #12
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.