Return Pump/ question

Christian.M

Reefing newb
Hi my name is Chris, just signed up today :). I am new to saltwater but I wanted to get my empty 75 gallon reef ready tank sitting in my living room ready for a FOWLR setup and transition down the road into a reef tank. I attached a picture below.
It has taken me close to 6 month to even start it but I built the stand and purchased 80 lbs of dry rock.

I am trying to figure out what type of return pump I should purchase. I was thinking of getting Eheim 1250 Universal Pump. for $104
  • Output: 320 GPH
  • Head Height: 6.5 ft.
  • Power Watt: 28W
  • Intake: 3/4"
Would this be enough for a 75 gallon aquarium or has anyone had any issues with this return pump? I was hoping for the return to also add water movement if possible.
I am also looking for some tips on avoiding overflow in case of a power outage and or if the pump fails. Since I live on the 5th floor my fear of this occurring worries me and my friend in the building will not be so happy :). Any extra steps I could take to avoid this?

In regards to equipment this is what I have so far

A new bubblemagnus protein skimmer
75 Reef ready tank plus stand
80 lbs dry rock
Ocean stream circulation pump picked up on ebay: 2 1600 gph
30 gallon aquarium that will be used as a sump. Would anyone suggest building a refu in the sump ?
RODI - to avoid using tap water.

Attachments

• Tank.jpg
    Tank.jpg
    157.4 KB · Views: 316
Hello, and welcome to the forums!

Here is a link to a previous discussion on how to plan for tank overflow/sump volume to prevent flooding.
https://www.livingreefs.com/threads/flood-proof-tank-sump.48414/#post-644553

Regarding the return pump, although the return and overflows produce some degree of water movement, generally you do not want the overflow/return flow to be too high as it leads to less than optimal performance of the sump.