RO water source

zuatrapatuarte

Reefing newb
Hello everyone.

I'm new to salwater systems and about to start my first saltwater tank.
My question is about ro water wich I did not know I needed until a few days ago.

I'm not quite ready to buy an ro unit just yet, can I used water from vending machines?
I know I have read on them that they produce ro filter water, my aquarium is a 29 gal and for water changes I will be just using around 6 gallons per water change.

Other than that source, where else can I get ro water?

Hello, and welcome to Living Reefs. And welcome to the reef keeping lifestyle :)

Like Ted said, you can buy RODI water from most fish stores at a reasonable price.
Some will even sell pre-mixed saltwater.
In a pinch, distilled water works too.

The only issue is hauling all that water on a regular basis. But you will eventually get a schedule worked out to make efficient trips to the fish store.
HINT: The less trips to get water, the less you will end up impulse buying stuff you see at the store. :)
Buy a bunch of 5 gallon containers and use a large vehicle to haul them all at once. Bigger containers will be a pain to carry.

Do be careful about vending machines for drinking water. They usually produce RO water (Reverse Osmosis) only. While this is cleaner water than tap water, it is still not completely stripped of all potential substances that can be toxic to marine creatures.

It is best to use RODI (Reverse Osmosis - DeIonized) water. This goes the extra step of passing the RO water through a resin that binds all the remaining substances from the water, making it as close to pure as possible.

Remember:
RO = for drinking water / not quite good enough for marine aquariums.
RODI = good for marine aquariums / debatable whether it is safe for extended human consumption.