RODI direct to ATO Reservoir

Discussion in 'Lighting, Filtration & Other Equipment' started by koda_dad, Nov 11, 2010.

  1. koda_dad

    koda_dad Mr. Paranoid

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2010
    Messages:
    589
    Likes Received:
    34
    Location:
    Halifax, NS Canada
    Hi all,

    I was planning on running a direct line from the RODI unit to my sumps ATO reservoir. This would be controlled by my profilux.

    After reading this ``The first few moments that a RO/DI runs are when it allows the most TDS through, and on an ATO it will only ever run for brief moments, making it the least effective use of your RO/DI and not accomplishing what you really want.`` I am starting to think this is a bad idea....

    My questions are a) how long after it starts running does it take to produce good water b)Anyone have any workarounds

    Thanks
     
    koda_dad, Nov 11, 2010
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. koda_dad

    BL1 ............. Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Messages:
    7,933
    Likes Received:
    1,370
    Location:
    TN, USA
    I just turned on my RODI and ran it for 3 seconds and then took a TDS reading ... My meter showed TDS was 0, so I think you should be ok.
     
    BL1, Nov 11, 2010
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. koda_dad

    Reefrookie Not so new anymore! VIP Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2008
    Messages:
    949
    Likes Received:
    182
    Location:
    Reading, Pa USA
    Where did you read that info from?
     
    Reefrookie, Nov 11, 2010
    #3
  4. koda_dad

    Bifferwine I am a girl

    Joined:
    May 13, 2006
    Messages:
    46,915
    Likes Received:
    5,888
    Location:
    Lynnwood, WA and missing Tucson, AZ
    When you first change the filters, your water quality will be poor. Which is why you should always run several gallons through when you change filters. But if an RODI unit is used on a daily basis (or at least regularly) the membranes stay wet. If I'm not mistaken, they don't work well when the membranes dry out between uses. I'd think that if the RODI was hooked up to an ATO, the membranes would stay wet pretty much constantly, and you wouldn't have a problem with the TDS creeping up.
     
    Bifferwine, Nov 11, 2010
    #4
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.