Round 2 - 75g vs 90g vs 120g?

Awol

Reefing newb
Hey all,

Haven't been around for awhile. I was a fairly active newbie around here awhile ago. Had a 125g I was going to set up. Never got around to it due to some financial reasons and I sold it to help pay for some stuff. Since then I've gotten everything back together, and my new bride is moving in with me.

So now I'm back in the market for a tank and hope to get a setup going sometime this Fall.

I'm looking for some pros / cons that some of you more experienced folk have had with the different sizes of 4' tanks.

I'm planning to use a 60g for a sump in the stand underneath so total water volume should be pretty decent no matter which I choose.

Obviously I'd prefer the 120g, something about that 24" x24" of water column just really appeals to me. However once I plumb it (assuming I drill it myself) I'd be looking at being 30" off the wall and that might be excessive...

So just some random ramblings and announcing my re-entry into the newbie ranks.

Feel free to add anecdotal evidence and your thoughts!

-Awol

Obviously I'd prefer the 120g, something about that 24" x24" of water column just really appeals to me. However once I plumb it (assuming I drill it myself) I'd be looking at being 30" off the wall and that might be excessive...

Get a tank that doesn't have a tempered bottom. Drill the bottom and install an internal overflow. This way no external plumbing in the back, just underneath your stand. This is how I had my 150 set up.

Don't forget about the 150H. Same footprint as the 120 but it's 30" high. The tank I have is made by Perfecto and the bottom is not tempered. So it would also be a candidate if your considering drilling the bottom for your overflow. I was looking to get a 120 but saw the 150H in the LFS and I had to have it.