Salinity Crisis

Discussion in 'Water Chemistry' started by x19, Jan 26, 2011.

  1. x19

    x19 VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2010
    Messages:
    601
    Likes Received:
    55
    Location:
    Chicago Suburbs, USA
    Ok, after coming home today from the reef store (with a couple of new additions) and I noticed some particulate in the water column. Without going through the whole narrative, I checked the salinty of the water in my tank and it's 1.018!! Now, I just calibrated the refractometer and it was slightly off before this test...so who knows how long it's been bad.

    Now, if its really 1.018 shouldn't my critters be suffering? Thats really low. I'm concerned that my refractometer might just be fracked.

    If it is really that low how would you suggest ramping it up? I don't want to kill of my invertebrates.

    Thanks!
     
    x19, Jan 26, 2011
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. x19

    BL1 ............. Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Messages:
    7,933
    Likes Received:
    1,370
    Location:
    TN, USA
    When you top off your tank, just top it off with salt water. If your critters have lasted this long, they'll probably be ok while you slowly raise your salinity.
     
    BL1, Jan 26, 2011
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. x19

    Smitty

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Messages:
    9,609
    Likes Received:
    1,587
    Location:
    Chicago/Oaklawn IL
    +1 Brian.
     
    Smitty, Jan 26, 2011
    #3
  4. x19

    PRC Stop Quoting Me!

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2009
    Messages:
    4,601
    Likes Received:
    568
    Location:
    Michigan
    You're giving them an accidental hypo-salinity treatment.:D Just like the others said, raise it back to normal slowly over a few days or a week, everyone will be fine......even you.:D
     
    PRC, Jan 26, 2011
    #4
  5. x19

    LBFish

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Messages:
    274
    Likes Received:
    12
    Location:
    Long Beach, CA
    Should be fine, i've taken mine down as low as 1.015 to treat ich and then raised it just by topping off with salt water and my standard weekly water change.
     
    LBFish, Jan 26, 2011
    #5
  6. x19

    x19 VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2010
    Messages:
    601
    Likes Received:
    55
    Location:
    Chicago Suburbs, USA
    Thanks all. On top of this I checked my RO water today with a TDS meter and it read nearly 250 ppm! My tap water tested over 530 ppm, so I've ordered some calibration fluid for it as well.
     
    x19, Jan 27, 2011
    #6
  7. x19

    little_fish Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    15,713
    Likes Received:
    2,574
    Location:
    Denver, CO
    That may not be wrong, the membranes on those filters need to be changed after awhile and that might be what is up with those readings.
     
    little_fish, Jan 27, 2011
    #7
  8. x19

    x19 VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2010
    Messages:
    601
    Likes Received:
    55
    Location:
    Chicago Suburbs, USA
    I know its possible, but I'm not totally sure. 5 months old on the R/O setup and I've only run enough water for a 30 gallon tank in that time...seems really fast.
     
    x19, Jan 27, 2011
    #8
  9. x19

    BL1 ............. Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Messages:
    7,933
    Likes Received:
    1,370
    Location:
    TN, USA
    If you're water quality is really poor it will degrade the filters faster then normal.
     
    BL1, Jan 27, 2011
    #9
  10. x19

    tankedchemist

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2009
    Messages:
    3,498
    Likes Received:
    206
    Location:
    Redmond, WA
    find out how much iron is in your water. that will degrade your RO system very quickly
     
    tankedchemist, Jan 28, 2011
    #10
  11. x19

    Aquatic

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Messages:
    604
    Likes Received:
    78
    Location:
    Arizona
    Try changing out the filters and see if you get better results. Worth a shot imo.
     
    Aquatic, Jan 29, 2011
    #11
  12. x19

    x19 VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2010
    Messages:
    601
    Likes Received:
    55
    Location:
    Chicago Suburbs, USA
    Yeah, I don't have extra filters but replacement filters are on the way. Hope to have them soon.
     
    x19, Jan 29, 2011
    #12
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.