salinity.......too high?

Discussion in 'New to Reefing' started by jlee84, Feb 1, 2010.

  1. jlee84

    jlee84

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    lexington, ky
    Hey everybody! thanks for taking the time to look at my question. I just set up a new tank, used live rock and some sand/coral with bacteria already in it. I picked up some damsels and a percula clown. my salinity is a little high and i am worried and messing too much with it. the yellow tail damsels and percula are fine, but i have lost 2/3 domino damsels and the last one is swimming a little funny. what should i do?
     
    jlee84, Feb 1, 2010
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. jlee84

    yote Ceritfied Mantis Hunter Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2006
    Messages:
    26,996
    Likes Received:
    3,868
    Location:
    Ringgold,Ga
    How high is the salinity?
    As long as your at 1.024 to 1.026,your fine.
    If its higher than 1.026,just siphon out a gallon every day when you top the tank off,then replace it with fresh RO water.
     
    yote, Feb 1, 2010
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. jlee84

    jlee84

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    lexington, ky
    its reading a hair under 1.030. it read 1.026 at the shop where i picked up the first fish that i put in. OK i will take a gallon a day out....i guess i am replacing it with fresh water??? do you think that would have something to do with my domino damsels going down and everything else being ok?
     
    jlee84, Feb 1, 2010
    #3
  4. jlee84

    jlee84

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    lexington, ky
    but i also added more live rock as i was adding the fish (after getting the reading)
     
    jlee84, Feb 1, 2010
    #4
  5. jlee84

    fastrd400 It wasn't me! Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    7,850
    Likes Received:
    884
    Location:
    Bay Area, California
    How long has ypu tank been set up? Your thread says you just set it up. If that is the case you are no where near ready to have fish in it.

    If your tank is established, and has gone through it's full cycle then Yote has you covered.
     
    fastrd400, Feb 1, 2010
    #5
  6. jlee84

    jlee84

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    lexington, ky
    to be honest, i set it up the day before i put the fish in. I had done this with my only other tank that was saltwater and i never had a problem ( but i also had alot of friends in college that came over almost daily and helped me out). i have always been a cichlid guy. i know its not wise to have fish in this soon, although i did add some water from a tank that was already established(3G), about 15 lbs of liverock and about 25 lbs of sand with existing bacteria in water. i figured all that and a few hardy starter fish might help jumpstart me again.am i crazy??
     
    jlee84, Feb 1, 2010
    #6
  7. jlee84

    fastrd400 It wasn't me! Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    7,850
    Likes Received:
    884
    Location:
    Bay Area, California
    Your signature line says you have a 55 gallon tank, is that right? And you put in 3 gallons of established tank water to start? 15 lbs of rock? 25 lbs of live sand?
     
    fastrd400, Feb 1, 2010
    #7
  8. jlee84

    SeaBee Ha Ha Thats Funny!

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2009
    Messages:
    2,107
    Likes Received:
    189
    How are you measuring the salinity? Those swing arm things can be off a lot, esp. if you don't rinse them out.
     
    SeaBee, Feb 1, 2010
    #8
  9. jlee84

    jlee84

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    lexington, ky
    no there is about 50 pounds of sand, just not all live, and there is alot more of lace rock. and 3 gallons of established tank water was all i could come by. i have to drive at least 20 miles to find a shop that sells anything saltwater, so i am working with what i can find.
     
    jlee84, Feb 1, 2010
    #9
  10. jlee84

    jlee84

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    lexington, ky
    marineland swing arm hydrometer
     
    jlee84, Feb 1, 2010
    #10
  11. jlee84

    SeaBee Ha Ha Thats Funny!

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2009
    Messages:
    2,107
    Likes Received:
    189
    Those swing arms don't last forever...mine was way off and then I broke down and bought a refractometer....
     
    SeaBee, Feb 1, 2010
    #11
  12. jlee84

    fastrd400 It wasn't me! Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    7,850
    Likes Received:
    884
    Location:
    Bay Area, California
    How long has it been set up?
     
    fastrd400, Feb 1, 2010
    #12
  13. jlee84

    wontonflip I failed Kobayashi Maru

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2008
    Messages:
    10,446
    Likes Received:
    979
    Location:
    VA USA
    Well, if you used live rock and live sand, you may not go through a cycle at all anyway. I agree that if you're using a swing arm, you may possibly not be getting an accurate reading (I had good luck with mine...gave the same reading as my refractometer). Better safe than sorry!
     
    wontonflip, Feb 1, 2010
    #13
  14. jlee84

    dcantucson

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2009
    Messages:
    20,917
    Likes Received:
    1,898
    dcantucson, Feb 1, 2010
    #14
  15. jlee84

    yote Ceritfied Mantis Hunter Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2006
    Messages:
    26,996
    Likes Received:
    3,868
    Location:
    Ringgold,Ga
    At the very least.Take a water sample to LFS and let them test the salinity with a refractometer before you do anything.You've got to know exactly how far off the hydrometers is before you start adjusting salinity.
     
    yote, Feb 1, 2010
    #15
  16. jlee84

    daugherty part time reefer

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    Messages:
    11,166
    Likes Received:
    1,067
    Location:
    Billings, MT USA
    yes a refractometer is the only way to go
     
    daugherty, Feb 1, 2010
    #16
  17. jlee84

    Melosu58

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2009
    Messages:
    1,211
    Likes Received:
    197
    Location:
    Richmond, Virginia
    Cycle your salt tank

    Read the article above. Your tank needs to be cycled. That`s why the fish died.
     
    Melosu58, Feb 1, 2010
    #17
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.