Sand question

dragonet123

Reefing newb
Hello everyone,
I am new to marine aquariums and I was wondering, which one would you recommend, live sand, or dry coral sand?

Thanks!

Do not get crushed coral. It makes maintenance much harder. Trash and junk will get stuck in there, making it become a nitrate factory. Don't get live sand because it's a waste of money. Who knows how long it's been in a bag? IMO the best bet is to get a bag of regular dry sand. It will become "live" really quickly.

I will never buy anything "live" again. Too many chances for unwanted pests. Buy plain aragonite sand and some dry rock and the plus side is that its all way cheaper. If you need to seed it, find a nice piece of live rock with nothing on it to toss in your sump.

I've just about had it with getting stuff I don't need from live-this or that. It will all cycle anyways and build up your own bacteria. I really don't think the cost analysis is worth it, personlly.

unless you are going to running a deep sand bed 6"+ it doesnt need to be aragonite sand as it will help with ph because for it to work it the water need to be carbon dioxide rich so it turns the water acidic witch dissolves the aragonite and turns it into carbonate

unless you are going to running a deep sand bed 6"+ it doesnt need to be aragonite sand as it will help with ph because for it to work it the water need to be carbon dioxide rich so it turns the water acidic witch dissolves the aragonite and turns it into carbonate
Aragonite sand is not silica based. Silica will feed cyanobacteria.
Aragonite is also a smooth oval shape as opposed to the jagged angular shapes of other sands wich 1 provides a larger surface area for beneficial bacteria. 2 it's better for the snails worms ect. that live in our sandbeds. It's not just about a ph buffer, but it will also help there as well.