sea urchins acquired - what to do?

kel

Reefing newb
We recently aquired 13 urchins that I am now responsible for. They are in a tank that is about 15? gallons - all 13. I'm sure that they need more space but I don't have another aquarium except for the 210 gallon and I don't want them in with my corals. There is a carbon filter and 1 small air pump. The previous owner fed them 1 seaweed sheet a week. I have read online that if they don't have enough food that they will eat each other. So here are my questions:

How much should I feed? Anything besides seaweed?

Should the light be on a timer? If so, how many hours on/off?

Is the carbon filter enough? I read that they are pretty dirty.

Any other advice for a total newbie?

THANKS!!!

Last edited:
What kind of urchins are they? Most urchins are reef safe and would be fine in your tank. In fact, they are great cleaners. I honestly think you have too many urchins to take care of, especially in a tank that size. Can you bring them to your LFS for store credit?

I am not sure what kind they are. They are black with long spines. I agree I have too many. They were used in a developmental biology class and I think they have been genetically modified. I don't think a store will take them for credit. I am just going to try and do the best that I can with them... She was going to euthanize them if we didn't take them.

Nah they haven't been genetically modified. They have only been used to study their embryos. Urchins are very commonly used in developmental biology classes.

They sound like common long-spined urchins, which are reef safe. And an LFS would take them for credit.

Sea Urchin Embryology

See, there's nothing to be afraid of about your urchins. They are just normal urchins, not "genetically modified". Urchins are like mice -- commonly used model animals in labs. It was nice of you to adopt them, and they aren't any different from other urchins that you would buy at the LFS.