Sea Urchins

lumpy

Reefing newb
I'm new to saltwater aquariums (building my first right now) and I have 3 fish shops in my area. Unforunatly I get different answers to my questions from each shop.

My latest inquiry is for Sea Urchins. I read in a book that they are not safe for reef aquariums because they eat calcerous algae. However, the local shops are saying that they arent a problem.

My primary interest is the corals and if an urchin is going to cause issues for the corals then I dont want to get one. However; if there is a species of Urchin that isn't a problem then I'd love to add it as a part of my cleanup crew.

Can you folks tell me if I should stay away from Urchins or not.

Urchins are generally reef safe.
But they can be annoying. I have found pencil urchins to be bulldozers, knocking stuff over as they move around, and Tuxedo Urchins take it a step further and physically pick up and carry your stuff all over. I've lost nice sps frags due to this. And I don't mean they died, I mean they got dropped and disappeared within the rockwork. Grrrr.
But I did have a purple short spine urchin that was nice and peaceful as well as several black long spine urchins that got pretty huge and were never a problem.

They eat calcareous ALGAE. That is true. That doesn't mean they eat corals -- they normally don't. Tuxedo/halloween urchins, short spines and long spines are the most common reef safe ones, and many people keep urchins and love the critters. There are a few people that have had problems with urchins munching on corals, but like any animals in this hobby, they are individuals and there's no 100% guarantee when you put anything in your tank.

I would highly recommend them. They are awesome additions to a reef tank.