Shark Egg Case!!

Sharkie

The Damsel Defender
So the guy at the LFS decided he was going to order and give me a shark egg case FREE OF CHARGE!! I had no clue and today he called me up and said that my shrimp was in as well as a surprise... I figured it was a good discount (i get those alot there) but he had 2 egg cases and said he wanted to give me one because its what i'm studying for school and becuase i was one of his favorite customers :)

So I got to pick out of the two egg cases and chose the more active baby (we had lights to check em out with). My quesiton isssss what is the best way to prepare myself for the hatching? I've never had a shark hatch at work while i was on shift, only ones that had hatched before i was paired with them. I know when they hatch whatever they see first will be the first thing it eats so for now the egg case is just in my tank and when its bigger I will be moving it to a 125 gl i am getting very soon! :D

I estimated the baby is about 2 months old, from all my research and time spent at the AQ with our sharks I think i have a few months before it hatches (i'm guessing around dec?) i know guestation lasts 9-12 months but the water is warmer in my tank than what it is at the LFS by 2 degrees...

Anyone have any tips? besides the obvious get a bigger tank before it hatches!!! LOL thats in the works as we speak! :D would it be wise to stick my eel and shark together in a 125 gl? whats the best thing to do when it does decide to hatch? move it before hand (when its pretty much full grown inside the case) or just let nature take its course? I have no clue if it'll survive but i'm hoping for the best!!

Keep us posted and with lots of pics!!!! You working at the aquarium will be lots of help to you. Ask people there what kind of care the baby shark needs. What kind of shark egg is it or do you not know?

Also keep it away from those finning boats!!!!!:shock: