Shawn's 48G Aquarium

shawnth

Reefing newb
It's been around 6 weeks since I've started setting up my aquarium, given this is the first time I'm setting up a tank I figured this would be a good place to post my progress. I doubt it'll be too interesting to follow as I'm a beginner and will be buying really the basic stuff but if you see any obvious mistakes I might be making please provide feedback !

What I got is a 48G display tank (I think based on measurements) with an overflow sump below it. I bought one of the kits sold online which had stand, tank, sump and all the plumbing. I'm not much of a DIY type of person so figured it was the safest route. Main problem with the setup was it was way too loud.. but with help from people on this site I've managed to get the sound down to a level even my wife is happy with.

attachment.php

attachment.php

I got some live rock (probably not enough) and I believe the tank is fully cycled. I dumped in a table shrimp in the tank to get the cycle started and 2 weeks ago my ammonia, nitrate and nitrite levels were all zero. Unfortunately it was just before my 2 week vacation so my tank has been sitting all this time w/ just the rock and some hitch hikers that came with it.

The rock seems to have a lot of nice colors to it.. I think most of it is coralline but suspect some of it is unwanted algae growth. Also noticing some crap building up on top of my sand which Im not sure what it is... so I've ordered some Nassarium snails and an emerald crab to get my CUC started.

attachment.php

Finally came back from vacation to see new critters attached to the side of the tank. Looks like some type of slug.. any idea if these are harmless ?

attachment.php

Attachments

• IMG_0228.jpg
    IMG_0228.jpg
    108.6 KB · Views: 780
  • IMG_0229.jpg
    IMG_0229.jpg
    130.3 KB · Views: 901
  • IMG_0231.jpg
    IMG_0231.jpg
    99.7 KB · Views: 522
  • IMG_0232.jpg
    IMG_0232.jpg
    178.2 KB · Views: 699
Last edited:
Looks really good.