sick anemone? please help

Diane

Reefing newb
I am new to saltwater fish.

I have a -55 gallon, 10 gallon refugium, 10 gallon sump, protein skimmer, mag 7 pump,2 power heads, 2 atinic bulbs, 1 10k day and 1 12k day with slight pink tone. I bought the tank privately, it had been set up for a while. I have had it 2 months.

There is live sand & rock, 2 clowns mated to 4 RTBAs, 2 reef chromis, 1 blenny, 1 flamefish and 1 neon goby. The RTBAs have spit several times (wound up with 8). Removed 4 from the tank. There is torch coral, snowflake coral and a few other small corals. 2 feather dusters along with several crabs, snails and 2 peppermint shrimp.

Water levels are all good except for nitrates which run between 10ppm - 5.0ppm.

About 2 weeks ago I added a new anemone to my tank. I posted a picture of it - it really doesn't look good at all - can anyone tell me what is wrong with the anemone? or what I can do for it?

Sorry for such long post, but wanted to get as much info in as possible.
Any help will be appreciated.

Diane

Attachments

• photo.JPG
    photo.JPG
    36.5 KB · Views: 1,036
Gonna need a bunch more info on this one. Whats all your params? How long was it previously set up for? Did you reuse the water when you moved? Whats the source of the water now? You know, those kinds of ?'s lol. Anemones need very good water quality to survive. Sounds like the move may have stirred up some nasties and that will be bad. When an anemone dies, it can release enough toxins to kill everything in the tank. I would suggest finding the nems a temporary home till you get things straightened out. Post up all the info (no matter how insignifigant it seems) and we'll do our best to get you on the right track to a happy reef. Welcome to the site BTW

Last edited:
The fact that the 4 split into 8 tells me its not your water parameters. It could be stressed from moving sometimes the store doesnt have it long before you buy it and that is a lot of stress.