Sick corals help

Frseanmaloney

Reefing newb
Hey everyone, I am relatively new to the hobby, but have moved very slow and very meticulously.

Until recently everything was going very very well. Then my wife and I had to be out of town for nearly three weeks. We were adopting a baby ( he is great!!!) The basic tank maintenance got done but very little else.

I returned home to find a wicked diatom bloom and a anemone and prism brain that looked pretty bad. after a couple weeks I was able to get the diatoms under control and returned the anemone to looking great! The brain, not so much. Can it be saved/what the hell is going on. Its almost like its melting?

I also have some sort of red hair algae growing. at first I thought it was coraline growing as I had just reduced the time my halides were on and it was starting to grow elsewhere. But then the hairs started to show up. How do I get rid of it?

Finally I had a great looking chili and in the course of epoxying him down he has stopped blooming entirely. He still expands and contracts but no blooms at night. He is pretty saggy. Just gone dormant, give it a couple weeks?

Just looking for some advise from some seasoned pros on all three issues.

Attachments

• IMG_0002.jpg
    IMG_0002.jpg
    24.2 KB · Views: 285
  • IMG_0005.jpg
    IMG_0005.jpg
    30.4 KB · Views: 242
  • IMG_0003.jpg
    IMG_0003.jpg
    45.6 KB · Views: 259
  • IMG_0004.jpg
    IMG_0004.jpg
    31.4 KB · Views: 272
Hello and welcome to the site...glad to have you aboard. We would need to know more info on the tank...particularly the water parameters. For now, if you aren't already doing so, start doing weekly water changes of 10-20%.