Sick, Malnourished or Normail?

KidJ57

Struggling Reef Addict
I'm a newbie :wave:, so take it easy on me if you please; I've got a 58 gallon tank with 60lbs of live sand, 35lbs of live rock (still saving money to buy more), a koralia 3 blower, JBJ 100 gallon filter pump with built in UV, a JBJ compact fluorescent (dual bulb, one white, one blue, on for about 6 hours) and an automatic feeder (2 full feedings per day, and one half feeding in the middle of the night for my large fuzzy hermit).

Fish: 1 blue demon damsel (only survivor of 3 damsels that cycled my tank), 1 yellow tang, 1 blue headed wrasse, 1 fuzzy hermit (big sucker), 2 turbo snails, and a sea hare that recently died .

Water tests: Temp is 79 degrees; PH is 8.0 (up from 7.8, been battling that since the beginning, didn't know you had to add PH Buffer to your fresh water until about a month ago); Amonia, Nitrate, and Phosphate are all 0; Nitrates are 20ppm (high, I know, gonna change out 10 gallons tomorrow); and Salt content is at 1.024

Everything has been going fine lately, everybody is moving well and eating, no fighting, no problems until the dead sea hare, which, according to my LFS, ate himself to death "probably". What has got me worried now is my blue headed wrasse who has developed this purplish coloration above his eyes (pictured). I know his color changes when the lights go out, but this purple spot is definitely new; what I don't know is if this is a disease in my tank which may soon attack my other fish, some sort of tumor, malnutrition, or something that happens normally with age and I'm merely just over-reacting.

Sorry for the long post, but it always seems like the one's with the answers are always asking for more info; so I tried to include everything but I'm sure I'm forgetting something. In any case, I appreciate your time reading and answering my question. :bowdown:

Attachments

• Spaz Spot Close-up Compressed.jpg
    Spaz Spot Close-up Compressed.jpg
    56.2 KB · Views: 546