So I'v Heard

JBReef

Reefing newb
OK I'v heard from the grape vine that I can build a homedepot light for real cheep.

The problem is I can't really find a DIY on it.

I know I would have to build a hood, but when I'm buying the fixtures will any 48" double sided light work and I just replace the bulbs or how does that part work?

Sorry a little info: I have a 55 gal. I'm turning from FW to a Reef I have a few friends helping me out who run SW but they all have the money to blow.

Any help on what fixtures to buy and bulbs, pictures, rough estamate on price anything really.

Also when I clean out my tank from FW should I clean it with anything or just a good scrub down with a facecloth and a rince?

Thanks again!!
-JoshB- NEWB

hello and welcome!!...im no expert either but here are some usefull articles to get you started..and ill help you a lot..in no time this thread will be crowded of experts giving you advice!!!
Beginning Saltwater Aquaria

Beginners Guide

Equipment Needed To Set Up A Reef System

Reef Lighting

ligthing is very important to your system, first, check what you really want for your tank, that way you can buy the ligthning system suitable for it...also for cleaning your tank , vinegar is a good choice, also a bit of salt, that way no harmfull chemical residue will be added to your tank...good luck ..have fun!!!

I can't help you out with your lights question, but like Rigo said, use some vinegar to clean out your old tank and rinse it well. Welcome to the site, and feel free to ask any questions you come up with!

If your wanting to build your own DIY light,then you'd probably come out cheaper to get yourself a retro kit.Not only do you have to have the right bulb,but the right ballast.
Its the ballast that runs the price up.

Go to a lighting warehouse to buy the DIY stuff for you lights. They will calculate everything out for you and even tell you how to wire it.