Spider Fish... Spider Fish.. Watch out here comes the Spider Fish..

Tarpals

Reefing newb
I thought I would use this question to introduce myself.. I have been keeping African Cichlids for the past 20 years or so (Malawi) to be more specific - but have only been in salt for a few months now....

I Have a 65 with about 70lbs of live rock, two Button polyp colonies, a green star polyp colony, a leather coral, and a nice red colt. One scooter, one surviving p-clown, two blue devils, and a dozen or so blue leg hermits.

Now here comes the newbee question - why do I see thin wisps of what looks a lot like spider webs between my rocks and among my corals in the morning. The blue-Ds appear to enjoy breaking them up when the lights come on... But I can not find any explanation as to what or why they appear in the first place.

Any thoughts?

there is a type of worm kinda like a feather duster that uses a web to get food instead of feathers. Cant remember the name at the moment but its a hitch hiker on live rock and it isnt bad for the tank. Oh and welcome to the site.

sorry I was posting and drinking last night. Couldnt remember what it was. I havent had a beer in about a year so last night I was angry at my wife and drank a 6 pack.

Tks for all the great responses... Now here is another newbee question for you all - I have been told that little green bubble looking things growing on rock or corals are somewhat undesirable - these are the little somewhat hard dark green beads.

Now I have been plucking them when I see them but - I just moved some rock around and found a few clusters...

Question time... Does any thing eat them? Are they really that bad? Is this just a new tank thing & they will go away? Am I hallucinating and there really are no green beads?

:mrgreen::mrgreen::mrgreen::mrgreen::mrgreen:
:mrgreen::mrgreen::grumble::mrgreen::mrgreen:
:mrgreen::mrgreen::mrgreen::mrgreen::mrgreen: