Sump / Fuge question

Doc

I don't work for anybody
OK you smart people, help a newbie out. OK, well I am not a super newbie, but as far as refugiums go, I am. I have been toying with the idea of putting in a chamber in my sump for a fuge. I imagine it will help with the nitrates created by big fish, but here is a question, does it do anything for phosphates?

More importantly, baffles. I have seen plans for baffles that are flush against the bottom of the sump and I have seen them with slits in the baffles and some with spaces at the bottom of the sump between the floor and baffles. which is the most effective set up? I am thinking four chambers for my 125: 1st chamber) intake from tank, media bags and two protein skimmers (the one I have is rated for 200 gallons and I will get an octopus skimmer rated for 300 gallons). 2nd chamber) the largest chamber, with a DSB and about 250 lbs of live rock for bio filtration (I am planning on keeping about 200 lbs in the DT, stacked in the corner, filled with soft corals and places for the angelfish to hide). 3rd chamber) fuge - is 8 inches wide big enough for a decent fuge - 18 inches deep? 4th chamber) carbon, phosguard, heaters and return pump back to tank. what do you think?

I was planning on just a desk lamp style light for the fuge, connected to the timers of the other lights for the tank. Will that be enough light to grow the cheato?

Again...Baffles? Best way to plan it? Thanks in advance.

-Doc

Last edited:
OK you smart people, help a newbie out. OK, well I am not a super newbie, but as far as refugiums go, I am. I have been toying with the idea of putting in a chamber in my sump for a fuge. I imagine it will help with the nitrates created by big fish, but here is a question, does it do anything for phosphates? no it won't help control PO4