Sump Questions

IceManCometh

Reefing newb
hey all,

i'm relatively new to the hobby, and i had a couple of questions about sumps.

1) how do i determine how large of a sump i should buy/build for my tank. i'm either going to go with a 40 gal breeder tank or a 75 gal tank.

2) a lot of people have tanks that are pre-drilled, mine are not. do they need to be drilled in order to have a sump installed?

I'm sure there are more questions, but at this time, i cannot remember them.:D

thanks for all your help

andy

1. Assuming that your putting your sump in the stand below your Display tank you'll want to go with the largest tank you can fit under your stand while still leaving room for other equipment.

I'm a little confused by your post but if your looking to have a 75 gal DT then a 40 gal "should" fit in the stand.

2. If your tank is not drilled you can go with a HOB (Hang Over Back) overflow. I'm not familiar with them but I think I've seen people say they have drawbacks. I'm sure somebody else will chime in.

or

you could get the tank drilled

Last edited:
1)Go as big as the space will provide.Some careful planning like choosing skimmers,heaters,if the sump will include a refugium or not,return pump(internal or external) will help you decide on how big of a sump will be needed.In general,10-15gal for the 40g. breeder and 20g+ for a 75g. is a good place to start thinking about.

2)No,many people use overflow boxes.They generally run around $50+.CPR and Lifereef makes the better,more reliable boxes.

The bigger the sump the better.

I used a CPR overflow box on my old 55 gallon tank. I purchased the optional $12 AquaLifter pump so that the siphon would automatically restart in case of a power outage. I found it to be very reliable and would recommend the CPR brand, used in conjunction with the AquaLifter pump. Overflow boxes take up a little bit of space in the tank, but are an excellent alternative to drilling your tank.