sump size and return pump

Discussion in 'New to Reefing' started by VB68, Apr 12, 2011.

  1. VB68

    VB68

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2011
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Van Buren,Ark.
    Got a 100 gal tank and stand. Any suggestions on the size of sump tank and return pump I would need. Also, I seen the answer on another thread on how to keep the sump from overflowing in case the electric went out, But, what if the tank lost the syphon and the sump emptied into the tank? Any suggestions on how to prevent this from happening? Thanks for all the help.
     
    VB68, Apr 12, 2011
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. VB68

    Lizardgi I used to have lizards

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2010
    Messages:
    365
    Likes Received:
    32
    Location:
    Fox Cities, WI
    You'll want to position the pump in the sump so if the overflow does loose syphon, it won't pump more than your tank can handle. When you set the overflow level, leave a bit of room in the tank for a few extra gallons of water to make up for this. The pump will probably burn out, but it's better than a huge mess! A good overflow really shouldn't fail.
     
    Lizardgi, Apr 12, 2011
    #2
    VB68 likes this.
    1. Advertisements

  3. VB68

    sen5241b

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2008
    Messages:
    5,029
    Likes Received:
    387
    Location:
    Arlington VA
    There is no exact size you need BUT you may have to add a powerhead to get enough flow in the main display.
     
    sen5241b, Apr 12, 2011
    #3
    VB68 likes this.
  4. VB68

    marcah

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2011
    Messages:
    1,721
    Likes Received:
    276
    Location:
    ma
    As far as return rate goes , you will want to look for about 10 times tank size for the flow rate..although faster won't hurt, only bennefit you..:D
    Just remmeber with the return comes restrictions from piping and elbows and height traveled.. So going overboard on the pump is a good idea just put a ball valve coming off the pump to slow it down if syphon can't keep up with the pump....
     
    Last edited: Apr 12, 2011
    marcah, Apr 12, 2011
    #4
    VB68 likes this.
  5. VB68

    VB68

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2011
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Van Buren,Ark.
    I was going to add a couple of powerhead to the tank to add some water movement in the tank. Is that what you was talking about?
     
    VB68, Apr 12, 2011
    #5
  6. VB68

    little_fish Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    15,713
    Likes Received:
    2,574
    Location:
    Denver, CO
    Yep! You want lots of flow in your tank. The ocean is never still and neither should your tank :)
     
    little_fish, Apr 12, 2011
    #6
    VB68 likes this.
  7. VB68

    marcah

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2011
    Messages:
    1,721
    Likes Received:
    276
    Location:
    ma
    depending on what you are putting in for corals will say what amount of watermovement you will need.. For example, if doing softies you dont need as much, around 20 times per hour or less ,, if doing lps you will need 20 to 40 times per hour and sps up to 80 times per hour..
     
    marcah, Apr 12, 2011
    #7
    VB68 likes this.
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.