Sump sump sump

Discussion in 'Lighting, Filtration & Other Equipment' started by WarmSoda, Mar 15, 2009.

  1. WarmSoda

    WarmSoda

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2009
    Messages:
    226
    Likes Received:
    10
    Location:
    Wyckoff, NJ
    I need some help planning out my new sump...

    What I hope to do is; put a suitable amount of LR in, add some chaeto macro algae (and maybe some other types of macro if they are recommended), somehow add live sand if it's a possibility or if it's necessary and add a feed pump for my skimmer.

    I had a sooper-professional draw me up some sooper-detailed blueprints of my sump to give the forums and idea of what I'm working with. Here they are.

    [​IMG]

    I'm so lost, please help! >_<
     
    WarmSoda, Mar 15, 2009
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. WarmSoda

    cthegame

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2007
    Messages:
    8,704
    Likes Received:
    641
    Location:
    California
    This design is a bit unique to me. Where are you planning to put the LR and Macro? Im assuming you;re not going to use bioballs and put LR in there instead.
     
    cthegame, Mar 15, 2009
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. WarmSoda

    dustin_P74

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2008
    Messages:
    9,262
    Likes Received:
    657
    Location:
    Marietta, GA USA
    thats a typical design of a wet dry trickle filter. i would take out the bio balls and use that to put the sand algae and rock in
     
    dustin_P74, Mar 15, 2009
    #3
  4. WarmSoda

    WarmSoda

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2009
    Messages:
    226
    Likes Received:
    10
    Location:
    Wyckoff, NJ
    My idea was to replace the bioballs with LR but because there's eggcrate there I can't put sand on it. The eggcrate is removable, but I'm not sure if It's possible to put enough sand on the bottom of the sump to make it beneficial and still be able to flow through where the sponge is (also is removable, and will most likely do so)
     
    Last edited: Mar 15, 2009
    WarmSoda, Mar 15, 2009
    #4
  5. WarmSoda

    kmart189

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    227
    Likes Received:
    13
    Location:
    Denver, CO
    you could put another piece of glass on the bottom backside of the sponge and then you could put sand on the bottom without worrying about it interfering with the sponge
     
    kmart189, Mar 15, 2009
    #5
  6. WarmSoda

    WarmSoda

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2009
    Messages:
    226
    Likes Received:
    10
    Location:
    Wyckoff, NJ
    Great idea! Thank you so much!

    Everything seems to be going ok, accept I don't know where to put the Macro algae. Any thoughts?
     
    WarmSoda, Mar 15, 2009
    #6
  7. WarmSoda

    kmart189

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    227
    Likes Received:
    13
    Location:
    Denver, CO
    filter.jpg
    This should help after I did it and thought about it you're going to run into problems with lighting for the macro so do away with the eggcrate, sit the rock on the sandbed and then put your macro on top of the rock then you should be good to go.
     
    Last edited: Mar 15, 2009
    kmart189, Mar 15, 2009
    #7
  8. WarmSoda

    dustin_P74

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2008
    Messages:
    9,262
    Likes Received:
    657
    Location:
    Marietta, GA USA
    i wouldnt worry about the live sand if your gonna make it that shallow
     
    dustin_P74, Mar 15, 2009
    #8
  9. WarmSoda

    WarmSoda

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2009
    Messages:
    226
    Likes Received:
    10
    Location:
    Wyckoff, NJ
    Wow, your amazing, thank you so much!

    That being said, what the heck is a grounding probe? ^_^

    EDIT: Where should the Activated Carbon go?
     
    WarmSoda, Mar 16, 2009
    #9
  10. WarmSoda

    Bifferwine I am a girl

    Joined:
    May 13, 2006
    Messages:
    46,915
    Likes Received:
    5,888
    Location:
    Lynnwood, WA and missing Tucson, AZ
    Sometimes a piece of equipment will malfunction and release electricity into the water. This can electrocute your animals and you, if you put your hand in the water. A grounding probe directs the current out of your tank (just like grounding any other thing does). They are cheap (I think less than $10 or so) and you can get them at any LFS or online. Any good LFS, at least. There are some people that believe using a grounding probe does more harm than good, but most people have them on their tanks.
     
    Bifferwine, Mar 16, 2009
    #10
  11. WarmSoda

    wontonflip I failed Kobayashi Maru

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2008
    Messages:
    10,437
    Likes Received:
    973
    Location:
    VA USA
    You can put the algae in the left side....but does your wet/dry have a shorter left side, though? I a going to be mod'ing my wet/dry (same layout as yours, except the return area is shorter than the tall...so i was going to seal up the hole in the bottom (where your sponge is), and just drill holes at the top to drain into the return area.

    More work than you may be looking to do, but if yours is like mine, your return section won't hold as much water, not leaving much room for your algae after you put in your dsb.
     
    wontonflip, Mar 16, 2009
    #11
  12. WarmSoda

    IraqVeteran HOOAH

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2008
    Messages:
    289
    Likes Received:
    17
    Location:
    Needville, TX
    with that sump design won't adding sand and rock in the first chamber just cause the sand to be stirred up all the time from the overflow just rushing on top of it constantly? I'm new to the sump world myself but looking at that first diagram that is what I thought of.

    I dont have a grounding probe on my tank but I guess I will get one now since Biff says everyone has them.....sounds like a good idea.
     
    IraqVeteran, Mar 16, 2009
    #12
  13. WarmSoda

    kmart189

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    227
    Likes Received:
    13
    Location:
    Denver, CO
    I too never had a grounding probe for awhile, but my lionfish got hlle which some people believe is caused by stray voltage which iw why I added one. I just placed a order for a sump off fleabay myself to get rid of my current cannister.
     
    kmart189, Mar 16, 2009
    #13
  14. WarmSoda

    Teixeira29 Live Rock Fish only

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2009
    Messages:
    429
    Likes Received:
    55
    Location:
    Gloucester, MA USA
    I agree with everyone, you guys always think most of what i am thinking! They have you covered!
     
    Teixeira29, Mar 16, 2009
    #14
  15. WarmSoda

    WarmSoda

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2009
    Messages:
    226
    Likes Received:
    10
    Location:
    Wyckoff, NJ
    Thanks for your help guys, It's really put me in a good direction.

    Where should the activated carbon go?
     
    WarmSoda, Mar 16, 2009
    #15
  16. WarmSoda

    project5k

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2009
    Messages:
    4,466
    Likes Received:
    154
    Location:
    Seguin Tx
    ok, i'll be the first to admit i dont know anything about any of this, but i do understand a little about mechanical design, and i'm looking at that drawing and asking myself.. is 3 inches deep enough to keep the pump and heater covered with water? I'm thinking that your gonna have issues with it that shallow.
     
    project5k, Mar 19, 2009
    #16
  17. WarmSoda

    WarmSoda

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2009
    Messages:
    226
    Likes Received:
    10
    Location:
    Wyckoff, NJ
    The whole thing will be covered with water, in order to get the LR fully submersed.
     
    WarmSoda, Mar 19, 2009
    #17
  18. WarmSoda

    project5k

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2009
    Messages:
    4,466
    Likes Received:
    154
    Location:
    Seguin Tx
    ok, help me understand, if you keep the water that high, then what happens in a power outtage? wouldnt it overflow?
     
    project5k, Mar 20, 2009
    #18
  19. WarmSoda

    WarmSoda

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2009
    Messages:
    226
    Likes Received:
    10
    Location:
    Wyckoff, NJ
    you would have to simulate one, and measure where the water would rise too. With LR in the tank.
     
    WarmSoda, Mar 20, 2009
    #19
  20. WarmSoda

    project5k

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2009
    Messages:
    4,466
    Likes Received:
    154
    Location:
    Seguin Tx
    ok, well let us know cause i'm considering building one of my own, and i had thought about a low level pump chamber, but i worried about it... this would tell me i was an idiot and it works, or it would tell me not to do it that way...
     
    project5k, Mar 20, 2009
    #20
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.