sumps vs. filters?

dejazurezra

Reefing newb
hey I'm gwendolyn, I'm new to this site and marine fish keeping
1.gif
and i've been harboring a question in the part of my head that holds uncomfortable confusion. lol

I bought this system because the guy told me it works and he owns it. this one ---> Penn-Plax Cascade Canister Filter

yet, everywhere I research, websites and books, it says that sumps are essencial for aquariums and I see all these technical tubes going in and out and overflow machines and blah blah things going over my head when I spent some money on this.

so my question is...is this filter different than a sump? does it act as a sump? because it sits underneath my 55gallon tank pumping water in and out of tubes which kind of looks like a sump i would think? or is this just a downgrade of a sump, and sumps are better...or maybe this filter is better? haha ive no idea. i'm still learning.

This is more of a jumbled up concern other than a specific question, but my tank is young and is almost on the verge of cycling so i think it would be pretty important to know haha. thank you sooooo much if you can help me!!
shim.gif

The general concensus is that canisters are bad on a reef tank.

Most of the reasons given are that it leads to nitrate build up.

I have a Magnum canioster and have been told to only run it occasionally --like with some carbon-- to polish and clarify my water.

I currently am running a fairly new tank and I am running the canister. It's packed to the top with premium quality activated carbon. I plan to run it for a few more weeks and then it's getting disconnected and going under the cabinet to collect dust.

If you want to run a reef tank, then most people would probably suggest a good refugium. Given that you have a 55g tank, I'll bet you will be better off running an overflow unit with a refugium/sump under the tank.