Super Fast Cycle?

jhawkk2004

Reefing newb
I'll admit, I'm a total noob with saltwater tanks and the nitrogen cycle. I have done a fair amount of research though, and I am really frustrating myself. My question is: In a 75G tank with EXTREMELY high quality, pre-cured live rock, 3" aragonite substrate, and a built-in fuge with a 4.5" deep live sand bed, is it possible that after only a week or two that the cycle is complete? I have heard that if you use really nice live rock, the cycle may not even take place because of the bacteria base in the rock.

The rock I'm using is the best that I have ever seen for sale, and is absolutely teaming with life. I have several inverts in the tank that hitchhiked on the rock like urchins, crabs, feather dusters, copepods, worms, sponges, etc. I began testing the water after having the tank running for 4 days with 80 lbs of rock. I noted no ammonia, no nitrite, and no nitrate. The tank has been running now for two and a half weeks, and I haven't seen any spikes in ammonia or nitrite, and the nitrate MAY be a little bit more than zero ppm, but it's still damn close to zero (This is the hardest test result for me to interpret, lol).

I have had some green chromis in there now for a while to add some bio load, but I don't want to jump the gun. What does everybody think? Is it safe for me to add my clean up crew? Corals? More fish? Like I said, I don't want to jump the gun if the tank isn't ready, but having seen no spikes, I'm really confused as to what is happening, or what to do next. Any advice would be much appreciated. Thanks!

Jeff :)

You probably did skip the cycle, but for future reference, never ever cycle a tank with fish. It is needlessly cruel to kill them via ammonia poisoning. Next time toss in a piece of table shrimp and let that rot to start the cycle.