Super Newb to salt water aquariums

juliegab21

Reefing newb
Hey guys!

Total newbie here at salt water aquariums. :) I need some help. Me and my wife decided to start taking care of a salt water aquarium last week. We were so excited and went out and bought an aquarium, filter, sand, corals and fishes without doing any research. Turns out there needs to be a lot of preparation done in starting and now all of our fishes are dead and the corals are starting to die too. :dunno:

So now I have decided to look around some websites, blogs, forums on starting. I found this forum and looks like I could get some expert pointers and tips from you guys.

Here are some questions:

1. The tank we bought is just 5 gallons. Being it our first aquarium we decided to get something small. But one store clerk from a local fish store said that salt water fishes dont survive in a small aquariums. Is this true? Are there any salt water fishes that can live in a small aquarium?

2. Aside from a filter, what else should I buy to maintain and keep the salt water clean? Can you guys recommend good ones?

3. Any good tips and pointers you guys can give us?

Thanks a lot! Hopefully I can get some help from you guys! :)

1) A lot of people have the mentality "smaller is easier" and in a sense it can be easier to maintain your water parameters, but because the tank is so small they can also go bad very quickly. Some fish will to ok in a 5g, pretty much only small gobies.

2)A lot of people run saltwater aquariums with HOB (hang on back) filters. It can be done, but it is not the best way. As for filtration you will want about 1 pound of rock per gallon of water.