Tang with disease?

kel

Reefing newb
I am new to the this. Anyways our tang has something going on at the base of its fin. Also there is one white spot. You should be able to see both in the pic. Any ideas? TIA

kel

Attachments

• tang pic.jpg
    tang pic.jpg
    38 KB · Views: 815
I'm not sure what that could be, but it looks like a combination of a couple things. The fin rot and the spot appear to be two different conditions. I would quarantine the fish and treat with some medications -- that looks pretty severe.

That white spot is starting right near the lateral line. I`ve seen many a tang scarred up with those white spots all over their face near the line. That`s my guess anyway.

My Atlantic Blue Tang gets white marks on him when squeezing between the rocks. They go away in a few days and are not perfectly round.

How's the fish now?

Thanks for all of your responses. So for an update. I officially took over the tank on Sunday 5/16. I am super stressed about everything because I don't know a lot and there are a lot of things that are wrong right now because the last person wasn't as attentive as she should have been. I have been voraciously researching so that I can get things back in order before fish and (more) corals die.