Tank bred Clown won't host?

Discussion in 'Reef Fishes' started by felixfish, Dec 6, 2011.

  1. felixfish

    felixfish newbie reefer

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2011
    Messages:
    425
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Sullivan, IN
    We picked up one clown with half white bands at the LFS. I have read that tank raised clowns don't host as easy with corals. I have a decent sized Anthelia that he as been swimming above and hangs out at the top of the tank. Will he eventually come down and host? We have only had him about 3 weeks so far.
     

    Attached Files:

    • nem.jpg
      nem.jpg
      File size:
      31.5 KB
      Views:
      244
    felixfish, Dec 6, 2011
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. felixfish

    Northstar24 The Tang Herder

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2010
    Messages:
    2,886
    Likes Received:
    380
    Location:
    Milwaukee, WI
    Hard to say, they usually will host something, but there is no promise that it will be an anemone or any kind of coral for that matter. Mine host one of the return pump outlets on the overflow

    Its really a crapshoot as to if and what they'll choose to host
     
    Northstar24, Dec 6, 2011
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. felixfish

    ZyberGoby Because I'm clever VIP Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2010
    Messages:
    3,608
    Likes Received:
    400
    Location:
    Cohoes, NY
    there is no set guarantee that they will host you your nem or corals of that nature
     
    ZyberGoby, Dec 6, 2011
    #3
  4. felixfish

    felixfish newbie reefer

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2011
    Messages:
    425
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Sullivan, IN
    That's odd, I have been trying to search ways to host them, but i don't want to try and quarantine them or anything. We'll see what he ends up doing.
     
    felixfish, Dec 6, 2011
    #4
  5. felixfish

    valasaraptor Proud ocelot owner!

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010
    Messages:
    636
    Likes Received:
    36
    Location:
    Alexandria bay,new York
    IMO
    trying to make them host sumthing will make then less likely to host,leave em be just let him do what he wants to do
     
    valasaraptor, Dec 6, 2011
    #5
    felixfish likes this.
  6. felixfish

    hollywood11892

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2011
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    1
    its hit or miss iv learned, my female dove right into my gbta but didnt even look at my rose that was in the tank for months before, my male doesnt host anything and its been 6 months so ya hit or miss
     
    hollywood11892, Dec 6, 2011
    #6
    felixfish likes this.
  7. felixfish

    guarda

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010
    Messages:
    264
    Likes Received:
    18
    Location:
    NYC
    +3
    Had my true perc with an rbta for almost a year and he stayed in a 3 inch squared area by the return pump 24/7. I added a juvenile at month 10 and after 4 months the juvenile hosted the rbta for exactly one day before big momma went in and kicked him out. Now they both fight for vacancy.
     
    guarda, Dec 6, 2011
    #7
    felixfish likes this.
  8. felixfish

    montana

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2011
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Montana
    I have herd that tank bred do not learn to host. I could be a case of there was no one to teach them so they could not emulate the behavior.
     
    montana, Dec 19, 2011
    #8
  9. felixfish

    marcah

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2011
    Messages:
    1,721
    Likes Received:
    276
    Location:
    ma
    They will host whatever their hearts desire .. I have had them host powerheads before.. the two I have now took a couple weeks but now they host both the LTA and BTA in the tank..
     
    marcah, Dec 20, 2011
    #9
  10. felixfish

    beeguiles they call me fish geek ;p

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2011
    Messages:
    2,853
    Likes Received:
    328
    Location:
    syracuse, ny
    Mine are tank bred. I've had them for 10 months or so and they don't host anything...kinda sucks but nothin you can do really.
     
    beeguiles, Dec 20, 2011
    #10
  11. felixfish

    JustinsReefTank

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2011
    Messages:
    900
    Likes Received:
    116
    Location:
    Ormond Beach Fl
    I have heard that if you put your fish and whatever you want them to host in a noodle strainer and let it float with them in it. That works "sometimes" Just an option
     
    JustinsReefTank, Dec 20, 2011
    #11
  12. felixfish

    ZyberGoby Because I'm clever VIP Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2010
    Messages:
    3,608
    Likes Received:
    400
    Location:
    Cohoes, NY
    just remember to use plastic........ hahahaha
     
    ZyberGoby, Dec 20, 2011
    #12
  13. felixfish

    sen5241b

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2008
    Messages:
    5,021
    Likes Received:
    385
    Location:
    Arlington VA
    Its interesting that the tank bred clowns people have don't host but I am not entirely convinced that its a learned skill. It could be instinctive although sporadic.
     
    sen5241b, Dec 20, 2011
    #13
  14. felixfish

    sen5241b

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2008
    Messages:
    5,021
    Likes Received:
    385
    Location:
    Arlington VA
    sen5241b, Dec 20, 2011
    #14
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.